Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online

Overview

MS in Mechanical Engineering delivered by streaming video; online students take the 30-credit non-thesis option unless permitted to complete a thesis.

Official program name
Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering
Source: eng.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: eng.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: eng.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
Auburn, ALWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Non-thesis · Thesis
Source: eng.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
30 credit hours
Source: eng.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
as little as two years or as long as six years (depending on the course load taken)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: eng.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: eng.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online MS in Mechanical Engineering offered through Auburn Engineering Online.

Source: eng.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: eng.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: eng.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
No required physical attendance (stated by the institution)
Source: eng.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Proctored exams Required

    Tests are taken with a proctor approved jointly by the student and the Auburn Engineering Online office.

    Source: eng.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Other in-person requirement Not verified

    Students approved for a thesis may be required to visit campus once for oral examination and defense.

    Source: eng.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.

Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree in mechanical engineering or equivalent
Source: eng.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum undergraduate GPA 3.0/4.0
Source: eng.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: eng.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$60 — $60 domestic, $70 international
Source: eng.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
RequiredTOEFL for international students
Source: eng.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$949per creditEstimated tuition$28,470 = 30 credits × $949 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: eng.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $28,470 (30 credits × $949 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Graduation fee
$40Mandatory
Source: eng.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Auburn University is a member of NC-SARA, which allows it to offer distance education to students who live outside Alabama. Official pageSource: auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. eng.auburn.edu/online/degree-offerings/mech.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. eng.auburn.edu/online/faq.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. eng.auburn.edu/online/program/master-of-science-mechanical-engineering — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. eng.auburn.edu/online/tuition-fees.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  6. auburn.edu/academic/provost/resources/student/distance-education/index.php — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Alabama first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Alabama logo

University of Alabama

Master of Science (MS) in Mechanical Engineering Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMSME
Location: Tuscaloosa, ALSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: proctored exams
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $480 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $14,400 (30 credits × $480 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of South Carolina logo

University of South Carolina

Master of Engineering (M.E.) in Mechanical Engineering (APOGEE)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sM.E.
Location: Columbia, SCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: other in-person requirement
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $572.25 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Resident (part-time, per credit hour) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $37,200 (30 credits × $1,240 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

Master of Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Nuclear Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration
Location: Raleigh, NCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: must be completed within six years (maximum time limit) · 30 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate - Engineering Online, Engineering Education, Residents of North Carolina, 1 credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $54,123.30 (30 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Auburn University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.