Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
University of South Carolina logo

University of South Carolina · Department of Mechanical Engineering

Master of Engineering (M.E.) in Mechanical Engineering (APOGEE)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sM.E.

Overview

A 30-credit, non-thesis Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering offered through APOGEE distance education, listed among the college's course-based master's degrees of 100% online coursework; a comprehensive exam is required.

Official program name
Master of Engineering (M.E.) in Mechanical Engineering (APOGEE)
Awarded degree
Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering
Source: sc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: sc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: sc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: sc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Columbia, SCWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Published specializations
Engineering Mechanics · Energy Systems · Dynamics and Control · Manufacturing · Nuclear Engineering
Source: sc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Thesis / non-thesis
Non-thesis
Source: sc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
30 credit hours of graduate-level coursework
Source: sc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master of Engineering (M.E.) in Mechanical Engineering (APOGEE) listed as an APOGEE distance education program.

Source: sc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: sc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: sc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verifiedRequired in person: other in-person requirement
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Other in-person requirement Required

    Comprehensive exam required; format/location not stated.

    Source: sc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.

Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Academic calendar

  • Distance classes run over 8-week or 14-week terms.
    Source: sc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other

  • Not all elective courses are regularly offered through distance education.
    Source: sc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Comprehensive examination

  • A comprehensive exam is required.
    Source: sc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Recommendation letters
Not verifiedAdmission decisions consider letters of recommendation (number not stated).
Source: sc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
RecommendedRequired for M.S./Ph.D. and for applicants seeking assistantships or tuition support; recommended for all other applicants. Minimum scores generally GRE-V 150 and GRE-Q 155.
Source: sc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 80Non-native English speakers; internet-based test
Source: sc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 6.5Alternative to TOEFL
Source: sc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
PTE Academic
Required — minimum 53Alternative to TOEFL
Source: sc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Resident (part-time, per credit hour)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$572.25per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$17,167.50 = 30 credits × $572.25 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: sc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate, Non-Resident (part-time, per credit hour)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,240per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$37,200 = 30 credits × $1,240 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: sc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Resident (full-time, per semester)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$6,867per semester · 2026-2027Source: sc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate, Non-Resident (full-time, per semester)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$14,880per semester · 2026-2027Source: sc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $37,200 (30 credits × $1,240 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate, Non-Resident (part-time, per credit hour), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Technology Fee (part-time student)
$17 per credit
Source: sc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside South Carolina.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in South Carolina first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

Master of Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Nuclear Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration
Location: Raleigh, NCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: must be completed within six years (maximum time limit) · 30 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate - Engineering Online, Engineering Education, Residents of North Carolina, 1 credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $54,123.30 (30 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Master of Engineering (Online) - Aerospace or Mechanical Engineering concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMEConcentration
Location: Norfolk, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $672 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia residents (rates effective Fall 2026) · year not statedEst. total tuition $19,860 (30 credits × $662 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMEng
Location: Champaign, ILSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: as short a time as one year of full-time study; online students have up to five years (full-time study) · 32 credits
Tuition: $1,195 per credit · All students — Online students, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027 · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $38,240 (32 credits × $1,195 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of South Carolina. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.