Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Master of Science in Engineering (Online) - Aerospace, Electrical and Computer, or Environmental Engineering concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Environmental Engineering

Master'sMSConcentration

Overview

Master of Science in Engineering offered online through ODUGlobal with concentrations in aerospace, electrical and computer, or environmental engineering, a minimum of 30 credit hours. The aerospace concentration requires a thesis; the electrical and computer concentration online uses a final project; the environmental concentration includes a research project.

Official program name
Master of Science in Engineering (Online) - Aerospace, Electrical and Computer, or Environmental Engineering concentration
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Engineering
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Concentration within a broad engineering degreeThe degree awarded is the broad engineering degree shown above; the concentration is a formally named option within it, not a separately awarded discipline degree.
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
Norfolk, VAWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Formal concentrations
Aerospace Engineering · Electrical and Computer Engineering · Environmental Engineering
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Thesis / non-thesis
Thesis · Project · Coursework only
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
Minimum 30 credit hours
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Broad MS in Engineering; ODUGlobal offers the aerospace, electrical and computer, and environmental engineering concentrations online.

Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Online scope not verified
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Proctored exams Not verified

    Some courses may require a proctored exam, completed through an approved online proctoring service.

    Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • In-person research Optional

    Environmental concentration: project research at ODU's main campus or on-site at the student's employer

    Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Workplace research setting
Environmental concentration research may be performed at the student's current employment location
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Advisor
Environmental concentration: close interaction with a research faculty advisor
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Thesis

  • Aerospace concentration (MS): four elective courses and a thesis
    Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Capstone

  • Electrical and computer concentration online: final project instead of a thesis
    Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Academic calendar

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredECE concentration: BS in electrical or computer engineering (math, physics, CS or other engineering graduates encouraged to apply)
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prior degree
RequiredEnvironmental concentration: bachelor's degree in civil or environmental engineering; other fields may need prerequisites
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prior degree
RequiredAerospace concentration: degree in aerospace engineering, engineering mechanics, mechanical engineering or a related field
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — ECE concentration: minimum 3.0 overall and in the major
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Bridge / leveling courses
RequiredECE concentration: students from other disciplines complete leveling courses
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredECE concentration: personal statement of 500 words or fewer
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — ECE concentration: two letters of recommendation
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredECE concentration: resume or CV
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
WaivedECE concentration: waived for applicants with an engineering degree from an ABET-accredited US institution
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GRE General Test
WaivedEnvironmental concentration: not required with an ABET-accredited US engineering degree; required otherwise
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 79ECE concentration: non-native English speakers without a US BS; IELTS 6.5 alternative
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia residents (rates effective Fall 2026)$672per creditEstimated tuition$20,160 = 30 credits × $672 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Out-of-state students (rates effective Fall 2026)$662per creditEstimated tuition$19,860 = 30 credits × $662 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $19,860 (30 credits × $662 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Out-of-state students (rates effective Fall 2026), academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • ODU participates in NC-SARA, which allows online delivery of distance education to other member states. Official pageSource: odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.odu.edu/graduate/engineering-technology/civil-environmental-engineering/engineering-environm — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalog.odu.edu/graduate/engineering-technology/electrical-computer-engineering/engineering-electric — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. catalog.odu.edu/graduate/engineering-technology/mechanical-aerospace-engineering/engineering-aerospa — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  4. online.odu.edu/academics/programs/aerospace-engineering — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. online.odu.edu/academics/programs/electrical-computer-engineering-masters-degree — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. online.odu.edu/academics/programs/environmental-engineering-masters-degree — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. online.odu.edu/online-experience/coursework-and-exams — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  9. odu.edu/assessment/state-regulatory-authorizations-licensure-disclosures — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Virginia first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Liberty University logo

Liberty University

Master of Engineering (MEng) Online

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering (MEng)

General Engineering

Master'sMEng Fully online
Location: Lynchburg, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $600 per credit · All students — Graduate Full Time · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $18,000 (30 credits × $600 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Master of Engineering (Interdisciplinary) (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General Engineering

Master'sMEng Fully online
Location: Auburn, ALSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: as little as two years or as long as six years (depending on the course load taken) · 30 credits
Tuition: $949 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,470 (30 credits × $949 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Mississippi State University logo

Mississippi State University

Master of Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentration: General Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration
Location: Mississippi State, MSSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $602.50 per credit · All students — Online tuition per credit hour (in-state rate for all online students) · year not statedEst. total tuition $18,075 (30 credits × $602.50 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Old Dominion University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.