Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Liberty University logo

Liberty University · School of Engineering

Master of Engineering (MEng) Online

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering (MEng)

General Engineering

Master'sMEng Fully online

Overview

A 30-credit online Master of Engineering focused on computational aspects of graduate-level mechanical engineering, systems engineering, engineering law and research. Admission requires an ABET-accredited engineering bachelor's degree with at least a 3.0 GPA.

Official program name
Master of Engineering (MEng) Online
Awarded degree
Master of Engineering (MEng)
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Lynchburg, VAWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Not verified
Required credits
30 Credit Hours
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
October 26, 2026, January 18, 2027, February 15, 2027
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

100% online Master of Engineering with no named discipline (general).

Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
No required physical attendance (stated by the institution)
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • Other in-person requirement Not verified

    The page notes certain courses may include alternative formats such as scheduled virtual meetings, intensive sessions or campus experiences.

    Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.

Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Curriculum focuses on computational aspects of graduate-level mechanical engineering.
    Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Academic calendar

  • Most courses are full-semester; select courses in 8-week sub-terms.
    Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree in engineering from an ABET-accredited program
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — At least a 3.0 GPA for admission in good standing
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Not requiredNo application fee
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial college transcripts
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredPage states no standardized testing for admission.
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredApplicants whose native language is not English; alternative assessments or waivers possible.
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Graduate Full Time$600per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$18,000 = 30 credits × $600 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Graduate Part Time$665per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$19,950 = 30 credits × $665 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Military Graduate$310per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$9,300 = 30 credits × $310 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $18,000 (30 credits × $600 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Graduate Full Time, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Virginia.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. liberty.edu/online/engineering/masters/engineering/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Virginia first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Master of Engineering (Online) - Aerospace or Mechanical Engineering concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMEConcentration
Location: Norfolk, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $672 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia residents (rates effective Fall 2026) · year not statedEst. total tuition $19,860 (30 credits × $662 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Master of Science in Engineering (Online) - Aerospace, Electrical and Computer, or Environmental Engineering concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Environmental Engineering

Master'sMSConcentration
Location: Norfolk, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $672 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia residents (rates effective Fall 2026) · year not statedEst. total tuition $19,860 (30 credits × $662 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Master of Engineering (Interdisciplinary) (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General Engineering

Master'sMEng Fully online
Location: Auburn, ALSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: as little as two years or as long as six years (depending on the course load taken) · 30 credits
Tuition: $949 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,470 (30 credits × $949 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Liberty University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.