Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Old Dominion University campus — Old Dominion University campus
Old Dominion University campus. Campus photograph of Old Dominion University. · Photo: Faithlessthewonderboy · CC BY-SA 4.0 · source
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Norfolk, VAPublic SACSCOCOfficial website

Old Dominion University offers online engineering degrees through ODUGlobal and the Batten College of Engineering & Technology: a BS in Computer Engineering, an MS in Engineering and a Master of Engineering with discipline concentrations, and degree-completion BS in Engineering Technology majors. Starting Fall 2026, ODUGlobal undergraduate and master's courses follow an 8-week asynchronous format.

Online engineering programs at Old Dominion University

6 eligible programs verified (4 bachelor's, 2 master's); formats: online coursework. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Online Engineering Bachelor's Degrees

Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering

Computer Engineering

Bachelor'sBSCE ABET EACFirst-year entryDegree completion
Location: Norfolk, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 128 credits
Tuition: $443 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia residents (rates effective Fall 2026) · year not statedEst. total tuition $57,984 (128 credits × $453 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology - Civil Engineering Technology (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology (Civil Engineering Technology major)

Civil Engineering

Bachelor'sBSETEngineering Technology ABET ETAC · online not listedDegree completion
Location: Norfolk, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Upper division online only · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online upper-division courses; lower division completed elsewhere; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: $443 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia residents (rates effective Fall 2026) · year not statedEst. total tuition $54,360 (120 credits × $453 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology - Electrical Engineering Technology (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology (Electrical Engineering Technology major)

Electrical Engineering

Bachelor'sBSETEngineering Technology ABET ETAC · online not listedDegree completion
Location: Norfolk, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Upper division online only · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online upper-division courses; lower division completed elsewhere; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 128 credits
Tuition: $443 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia residents (rates effective Fall 2026) · year not statedEst. total tuition $57,984 (128 credits × $453 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology - Mechanical Engineering Technology (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology (Mechanical Engineering Technology major)

Mechanical Engineering

Bachelor'sBSETEngineering Technology ABET ETAC · online not listedDegree completion
Location: Norfolk, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Upper division online only · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online upper-division courses; lower division completed elsewhere; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: $443 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia residents (rates effective Fall 2026) · year not statedEst. total tuition $54,360 (120 credits × $453 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Online Engineering Master's Degrees

Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Master of Engineering (Online) - Aerospace or Mechanical Engineering concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMEConcentration
Location: Norfolk, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $672 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia residents (rates effective Fall 2026) · year not statedEst. total tuition $19,860 (30 credits × $662 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Master of Science in Engineering (Online) - Aerospace, Electrical and Computer, or Environmental Engineering concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Environmental Engineering

Master'sMSConcentration
Location: Norfolk, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $672 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia residents (rates effective Fall 2026) · year not statedEst. total tuition $19,860 (30 credits × $662 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program

Accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since January 1, 1951 · next review 06/01/2029

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

The university states: “Old Dominion University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)” Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.

Published enrollment restrictions

State authorization rules decide whether the university can enroll you in an online program from your state. The university's location never decides it.

State authorization

  • ODU participates in NC-SARA, which allows online delivery of distance education to other member states.
    Source: odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists online engineering bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 majors. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (campus-only degrees, certificates, engineering management or systems engineering, professional doctorates…). Not listing a campus degree says nothing about its quality.
  • BS in Engineering Technology - Manufacturing Engineering Technology (online) (Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology (Manufacturing Engineering Technology major))discipline outside the 22 directory majors (manufacturing)Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • PhD in Engineering Management and Systems Engineering (online)professional doctorate or out-of-scope doctorate, outside the PhD directorySource: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Master of Engineering Management (online)discipline outside the 22 directory majorsSource: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • MS in Engineering - Modeling and Simulation (online)discipline outside the 22 directory majorsSource: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Cybersecurity (BS, MS) onlinegeneric computing degree, outside the 22 directory majorsSource: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Coastal Engineering graduate certificate (online)graduate certificateSource: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institution

Official name
Old Dominion University
Control
Public
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Main location
5115 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23529
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Engineering degrees awarded, all formats (IPEDS CIP 14 engineering codes, first major)
190 bachelor's, 168 master's, 28 doctoral (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), engineering CIP codes (14.xx) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. online.odu.edu/about-us/accreditation — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. online.odu.edu/academics/area/engineering — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. online.odu.edu/academics/programs/aerospace-engineering — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. online.odu.edu/academics/programs/civil-engineering-technology — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. online.odu.edu/academics/programs/computer-engineering-bachelor-degree — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. online.odu.edu/academics/programs/manufacturing-engineering-technology — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. online.odu.edu/online-experience/coursework-and-exams — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  10. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  11. odu.edu/assessment/state-regulatory-authorizations-licensure-disclosures — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile