Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University · Department of Engineering Technology

Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology - Civil Engineering Technology (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology (Civil Engineering Technology major)

Civil Engineering

Bachelor'sBSETEngineering Technology ABET ETAC · online not listedDegree completion

Overview

Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology with a major in civil engineering technology, offered online through ODUGlobal as a degree-completion program: ODU offers the upper-division courses in accelerated 8-week terms, and students choose senior electives in construction management, structural design or site development.

Official program name
Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology - Civil Engineering Technology (Online)
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology (Civil Engineering Technology major)
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Engineering major
Civil EngineeringEngineering Technology degrees are listed separately and never counted as Engineering degrees. They emphasize applied design, implementation and operations; their ABET accreditation (where it exists) comes from a different commission (ETAC), and state licensing boards treat them differently from engineering degrees.
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Norfolk, VAWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Not verified
Required credits
This BSET program requires 120 total credit hours minimum.
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

How students enter this degree

  • Degree completion program. Degree completion for students with some college credits; transfer up to 90 credits90 prior credits statedSource: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Completed elsewhere: ODU offers the upper division (300 and 400 level) courses online; a qualifying associate degree may satisfy lower level general education requirements. Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Only upper-division courses are offered online. Lower-division mathematics, science and introductory engineering courses must be completed before or elsewhere.

This is a degree-completion route: it is not a standard first-year admission option.

Why this program is listed

Online degree-completion BSET with a major in Civil Engineering Technology; engineering technology record.

Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Only upper-division courses are offered online — lower-division courses are completed elsewhere
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Proctored exams Not verified

    Some courses may require a proctored exam, completed through an approved online proctoring service.

    Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Other lab arrangement
The catalog curriculum includes laboratory courses such as CET 341 Soil Testing Laboratory; how online students complete them is not stated.
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Capstone
RequiredSenior capstone design project
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Academic calendar

Curriculum

  • Senior-level courses in construction management, structural design and site development.
    Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other

  • At least 30 credit hours must be completed at ODU.
    Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Accreditation statement on the program's page: ODU's Civil Engineering Technology program is accredited by the Engineering Technology Accreditation Commission (ETAC) of ABET.
    Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Final deadline

    January 4 (Spring 1); March 8 (Spring 2) · for Spring 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia residents (rates effective Fall 2026)$443per creditEstimated tuition$53,160 = 120 credits × $443 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Out-of-state students (rates effective Fall 2026)$453per creditEstimated tuition$54,360 = 120 credits × $453 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $54,360 (120 credits × $453 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Out-of-state students (rates effective Fall 2026), academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • ABET (Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology) (ABET)Status: Accredited · Commission: ETAC · Program: Civil Engineering Technology · Degree: BSETAccredited since April 1, 1999 · next review 2030–2031 (next comprehensive review) · ABET lists: Main Campus · distance delivery per ABET: Less than half of contentABET's record does not list the online pathway — ask the school whether the online version is covered.Source: amspub.abet.org · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • ODU participates in NC-SARA, which allows online delivery of distance education to other member states. Official pageSource: odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureThis program is designed to prepare you for the Fundamentals of Engineering exam, the first step to licensure as a professional engineer in several states. Official disclosureSource: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. ABET accredited program search (data downloaded 2026-10-12) — Accreditor directory, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalog.odu.edu/undergraduate/engineering-technology/engineering-technology/engineering-technology-c — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. online.odu.edu/academics/programs/civil-engineering-technology — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. online.odu.edu/admissions/application-dates-deadlines — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. online.odu.edu/online-experience/coursework-and-exams — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  7. odu.edu/assessment/state-regulatory-authorizations-licensure-disclosures — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Old Dominion University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.