Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Lamar University logo

Lamar University · Phillip M. Drayer Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

B.S. Computer Engineering (2+2 online path)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science, Major: Computer Engineering

Computer Engineering

Bachelor'sB.S.ABET: not matchedDegree completion

Overview

A 120-credit BS in Computer Engineering whose ECE courses can be taken in synchronous online sections, offered as a 2+2 path for community college transfers. Students buy a hardware kit for lab work, and online enrollment needs department chair approval.

Official program name
B.S. Computer Engineering (2+2 online path)
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science, Major: Computer Engineering
Source: lamar.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Engineering major
Source: lamar.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: lamar.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: lamar.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Beaumont, TXWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Not verified
Required credits
120 credit hours
Source: catalog.lamar.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

How students enter this degree

  • Degree completion program. 2+2 path for community college transfers completing the final two years.associate degree not requiredSource: lamar.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Completed elsewhere: Some non-ECE courses may not have an online option; transfer students are advised to follow 2+2 degree maps with community colleges. Source: lamar.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Only upper-division courses are offered online. Lower-division mathematics, science and introductory engineering courses must be completed before or elsewhere.

This is a degree-completion route: it is not a standard first-year admission option.

Why this program is listed

Bachelor of Science, Major: Computer Engineering: upper-division (2+2) online path; online sections require department chair approval.

Source: lamar.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: lamar.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Only upper-division courses are offered online — lower-division courses are completed elsewhere
Source: lamar.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Synchronous (live sessions)
Source: lamar.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether campus visits, lab sessions, proctored exams at a center or other in-person requirements apply. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Laboratory kit
RequiredStudents purchase a recommended hardware kit used in course assignments.
Source: lamar.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Other

  • Online and face-to-face sections of required ECE courses are taught together; students may mix formats each semester.
    Source: lamar.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Mathematics prerequisites
RecommendedMostly A and B grades in lower-division math and physics recommended.
Source: lamar.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredOnline registration requires a Request For Online Enrollment form with documented reasons for not attending on campus, approved by the Department Chair.
Source: lamar.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Undergraduate, Resident, total tuition for 1 semester credit hour (Fall 2026 and Spring 2027)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$259.49per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$31,138.80 = 120 credits × $259.49 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: lamar.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Undergraduate, Non-Resident, total tuition for 1 semester credit hour (Fall 2026 and Spring 2027)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$687.49per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$82,498.80 = 120 credits × $687.49 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: lamar.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $82,498.80 (120 credits × $687.49 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Undergraduate, Non-Resident, total tuition for 1 semester credit hour (Fall 2026 and Spring 2027), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Institutional Fee per SCH
$61.53 per credit
Source: lamar.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Student Service Fee per SCH (capped at 250.00)
$23.75 per credit
Source: lamar.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. Many state licensing boards look for EAC-accredited engineering degrees; check the school's statement and your state board. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Texas.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.lamar.edu/college-engineering/phillip-m-drayer-department-electrical-engineering/computer-en — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. lamar.edu/engineering/electrical/degrees/undergraduate/bsee-distance-options.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. lamar.edu/engineering/electrical/degrees/undergraduate/index.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. lamar.edu/students/paying-for-school/undergraduate-tuition-fees.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Texas first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering

Computer Engineering

Bachelor'sBSCE ABET EACFirst-year entryDegree completion
Location: Norfolk, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 128 credits
Tuition: $443 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia residents (rates effective Fall 2026) · year not statedEst. total tuition $57,984 (128 credits × $453 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Bachelor of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering (Arizona Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EAC
Location: Tucson, AZSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 128 credits
Tuition: $525 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $67,200 (128 credits × $525 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
National University logo

National University

Bachelor of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EAC Fully onlineFirst-year entry
Location: San Diego, CASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)Remote / kit / virtual labs published
Duration: Finish in 60 months average completion time (average completion time) · 120 credits
Tuition: $640 per credit · All students — Base per credit/unit rate · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Lamar University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.