Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net

West Texas A&M University · College of Engineering Graduate Program

Master of Science in Engineering (online non-thesis option)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Engineering

General Engineering

Master'sMS

Overview

An interdisciplinary Master of Science in Engineering in which students design their own plan of study around an area of specialization. The 30-hour thesis track is in person; the 36-hour non-thesis track, which includes a project course with a written report and oral presentation, has 100% online options.

Official program name
Master of Science in Engineering (online non-thesis option)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Engineering
Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Canyon, TXWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Published specializations
Mechatronics/Automation Specialization (sample degree plan) · Renewable Energy Systems Specialization (sample degree plan) · Advanced Mechanical Engineering Specialization (sample degree plan) · Advanced Civil Engineering Specialization (sample degree plan)
Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Thesis / non-thesis
Non-thesis
Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
Minimum of 36 semester hours including a three-credit-hour project course (non-thesis option)
Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Interdisciplinary MS in Engineering (no single discipline) with a 36-hour non-thesis track that has 100% online options; students design their own plan, specializations shown are samples, not formally named concentrations.

Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Other in-person requirement Optional

    Students may take courses on campus in combination with online courses.

    Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Capstone
RequiredNon-thesis option includes a three-credit-hour project course with a written report and oral presentation to a faculty committee.
Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Thesis

  • The thesis track (30 hours) is in person; only the 36-hour non-thesis track has online options.
    Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

  • Non-thesis plan: area of specialization 15, sub-specialization(s) 12, elective 6, project 3 (total 36).
    Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

  • Mechatronics/Automation Specialization (sample degree plan)
    Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Renewable Energy Systems Specialization (sample degree plan)
    Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Advanced Mechanical Engineering Specialization (sample degree plan)
    Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Advanced Civil Engineering Specialization (sample degree plan)
    Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 3 — Undergraduate GPA of 3.0 in an engineering or closely related program preferred.
Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredLetter of intent describing interest in engineering.
Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$55 — $55 graduate admissions fee.
Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial copies of all university transcripts.
Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
RequiredInternational students with F1 visa status are not admitted into the 36-hour online track.
Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 79International applicants only; 79 iBT or 213 computer-based
Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 6.5International applicants only
Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
PTE Academic
Required — minimum 53International applicants only
Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Final deadline

    August 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Final deadline

    December 1 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Final deadline

    May 1 · for Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this online program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Other published fees

Distance Education Fee (online-only students), 2026-2027 graduate rate table
$57.50 per creditMandatory
Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
College of Business and Engineering/Computer Science Differential Tuition (course-based)
$37.75 per creditMandatory
Source: wtamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. wtamu.edu/_files/docs/business-finance/business-office/2026-2027%20RATE%20TABLES/2627%20FS%20TABLES/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. wtamu.edu/academics/college-engineering/programs/graduate/coe-degree-specialty-examples.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. wtamu.edu/academics/college-engineering/programs/graduate/engineering-graduate-program.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. wtamu.edu/academics/online/graduate-degrees.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. wtamu.edu/academics/online/state-authorization.html — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Texas first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University

Master of Engineering in Engineering (Online; Interdisciplinary or Subsea Engineering specialization)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Engineering

General engineering · concentration: Interdisciplinary Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration
Location: College Station, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas Tech University logo

Texas Tech University

Online Master of Engineering

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General Engineering

Master'sMEng
Location: Lubbock, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: some students finish in four terms taking two or three courses each semester, including summer (two or three courses per semester including summer) · 30 credits
Tuition: $2,500 per course · All students — Estimate per three-credit online graduate engineering course · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Master of Engineering (Interdisciplinary) (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General Engineering

Master'sMEng Fully online
Location: Auburn, ALSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: as little as two years or as long as six years (depending on the course load taken) · 30 credits
Tuition: $949 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,470 (30 credits × $949 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with West Texas A&M University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.