Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Penn State World Campus logo

Penn State World Campus · Penn State Behrend School of Engineering

Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EAC · online not listed Fully onlineFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Overview

A 126-credit online BS in Software Engineering offered with the Penn State Behrend School of Engineering. Students apply as first-year or transfer students and complete entrance-to-major requirements in calculus, physics and chemistry; the senior year includes an industry-sponsored capstone design project.

Official program name
Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Engineering major
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Penn State World Campus — Penn State Behrend School of Engineering
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
University Park, PAWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Not verified
Required credits
minimum of 126 credits
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Spring, Summer, Fall
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

How students enter this degree

  • First-year entry. High school graduates or GED holders may apply and complete entrance-to-major requirements after admission.associate degree not requiredSource: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Transfer entry. Transfer students with fewer than 45 transferable credits need a 2.7 GPA plus calculus, physics and chemistry.associate degree not requiredSource: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Why this program is listed

Online BS in Software Engineering offered through World Campus with Penn State Behrend.

Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
No required physical attendance (stated by the institution)
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Capstone
RequiredSWENG 480/481 capstone project in the senior year with industry partners
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Academic calendar

  • Online courses follow a 12- to 15-week semester cycle with three semesters per year.
    Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other

  • Accreditation statement on the program's page: accredited by the Engineering Commission of ABET
    Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.7 — 2.7 cumulative GPA for direct transfer into the major
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Mathematics prerequisites
RequiredEntrance to major: CHEM 110, MATH 140, MATH 141 and PHYS 211 with a C or better and a 2.0 GPA
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$65 — $65 domestic or $75 international
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredAll college or university transcripts
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

SAT / ACT
WaivedNot required for adult learners or transfer students.
Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    June 30, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    October 31 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    March 15 · for Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — 2026-27, 11 or fewer credits per semester, 59 or fewer total credits$644per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$81,144 = 126 credits × $644 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
All students — 2026-27, 11 or fewer credits per semester, 60 or more total credits$692per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$87,192 = 126 credits × $692 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
All students — 2027-28, 11 or fewer credits per semester, 59 or fewer total credits$657per credit · 2027-2028Estimated tuition$82,782 = 126 credits × $657 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
All students — 2027-28, 11 or fewer credits per semester, 60 or more total credits$706per credit · 2027-2028Estimated tuition$88,956 = 126 credits × $706 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: worldcampus.psu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $81,144 (126 credits × $644 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — 2026-27, 11 or fewer credits per semester, 59 or fewer total credits, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • ABET (Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology) (ABET)Status: Accredited · Commission: EAC · Program: Software Engineering · Degree: BS Software Engineeringnext review 2027–2028 (next comprehensive review) · ABET lists: Penn State Behrend · distance delivery per ABET: Less than half of contentABET's record does not list the online pathway — ask the school whether the online version is covered.Source: amspub.abet.org · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. ABET accredited program search (data downloaded 2026-10-12) — Accreditor directory, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. worldcampus.psu.edu/consumer-information-and-disclosures/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. worldcampus.psu.edu/degrees-and-certificates/penn-state-online-software-engineering-bachelor-of-scie — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Pennsylvania first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Arizona Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EAC
Location: Tucson, AZSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: $525 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $63,000 (120 credits × $525 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
St. Cloud State University logo

St. Cloud State University

Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Bachelor'sBSE ABET EAC Fully onlineFirst-year entryTransfer entryDegree completion
Location: Saint Cloud, MNSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 122 credits
Tuition: $385.67 per credit · Online students — B.S. Software Engineering online, current estimated rate · year not statedEst. total tuition $47,051.74 (122 credits × $385.67 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 28, 2026 · Spring A 2027
View Program
Western Governors University logo

Western Governors University

Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Bachelor'sBSABET: not matchedFirst-year entryTransfer entry
Location: Salt Lake City, UTSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: As quickly as you can master the material, typically less than 3 years (competency-based pace) · 120 credits
Tuition: $4,125 per term · All students — Tuition per six-month term · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Penn State World Campus. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.