Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
St. Cloud State University logo

St. Cloud State University · Computing, Informatics & Data Science

Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Bachelor'sBSE ABET EAC Fully onlineFirst-year entryTransfer entryDegree completion

Overview

A 122-credit online bachelor's in software engineering with 7-week courses and multiple start dates, open to first-year and transfer students, with up to 90 transfer credits accepted.

Official program name
Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering
Source: stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Engineering major
Source: stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: catalog.stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Saint Cloud, MNWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Not verified
Required credits
122 total credit hours
Source: degree.stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall A, Fall B, Spring A, Spring B
Source: degree.stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

How students enter this degree

  • First-year entry. Freshman students eligible with a high school GPA of 2.25 or higherassociate degree not requiredSource: degree.stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Transfer entry. Transfer students with 12 or more credits and a cumulative college GPA of 2.0 or higher; up to 90 credits may transfer12 prior credits stated · associate degree not requiredSource: degree.stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Degree completion program. Degree completion described for working adults with two-year IT degrees and for adults with four-year degreesassociate degree not requiredSource: stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Why this program is listed

Bachelor's in software engineering that the department says can be completed fully online; catalog lists the online program as BSE, online exclusive.

Source: stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: catalog.stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
No required physical attendance (stated by the institution)
Source: stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: catalog.stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.

Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Academic calendar

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2 — 2.0 GPA in prior college coursework (transfer students with 12+ credits)
Source: degree.stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredStudents with fewer than 15 college credits submit official high school transcripts or GED
Source: degree.stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

SAT / ACT
Not required
Source: degree.stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — B.S. Software Engineering online, current estimated rate$385.67per creditEstimated tuition$47,051.74 = 122 credits × $385.67 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: degree.stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $47,051.74 (122 credits × $385.67 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students — B.S. Software Engineering online, current estimated rate, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • ABET (Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology) (ABET)Status: Accredited · Commission: EAC · Program: Software Engineering · Degree: Bachelor of Science in EngineeringAccredited since October 1, 2023 · next review 2032–2033 (next comprehensive review) · ABET lists: Main Campus · distance delivery per ABET: All contentABET's record lists the online pathway.Source: amspub.abet.org · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Minnesota.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. ABET accredited program search (data downloaded 2026-10-12) — Accreditor directory, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalog.stcloudstate.edu/programs/348122015.A402 — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. catalog.stcloudstate.edu/programs/ezzWKiV1cgx4Wxf8K3JJ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  4. degree.stcloudstate.edu/online-programs/undergraduate/bachelor-in-software-engineering/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  6. stcloudstate.edu/programs/software-engineering/degree-completion.aspx — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Minnesota first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Arizona Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EAC
Location: Tucson, AZSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: $525 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $63,000 (120 credits × $525 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Western Governors University logo

Western Governors University

Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Bachelor'sBSABET: not matchedFirst-year entryTransfer entry
Location: Salt Lake City, UTSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: As quickly as you can master the material, typically less than 3 years (competency-based pace) · 120 credits
Tuition: $4,125 per term · All students — Tuition per six-month term · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Penn State World Campus logo

Penn State World Campus

Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EAC · online not listed Fully onlineFirst-year entryTransfer entry
Location: University Park, PASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 126 credits
Tuition: $644 per credit · All students — 2026-27, 11 or fewer credits per semester, 59 or fewer total credits · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $81,144 (126 credits × $644 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: June 30, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with St. Cloud State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.