Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
St. Cloud State University logo

St. Cloud State University · Computing, Informatics & Data Science

Professional Science Master's in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Professional Science Master's in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Master'sPSM

Overview

A 33-credit Professional Science Master's in Software Engineering delivered fully online and asynchronously for professionals from computing fields, with about 20 percent of the coursework drawn from MBA courses.

Official program name
Professional Science Master's in Software Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Professional Science Master's in Software Engineering
Source: catalog.stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: catalog.stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: catalog.stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: catalog.stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Saint Cloud, MNWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Not verified
Required credits
33 credits
Source: catalog.stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree in software engineering (Professional Science Master's), delivered online exclusively and asynchronously.

Source: catalog.stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: catalog.stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: catalog.stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether campus visits, lab sessions, proctored exams at a center or other in-person requirements apply. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Capstone
RequiredCapstone project referenced in admission rules
Source: stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
RequiredRequired only for applicants without two years of computing work experience or current full-time US employment
Source: stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Work experience
RequiredTwo years of computing work experience after the undergraduate degree, or current full-time employment with a US-based organization; otherwise a full-time internship during the program
Source: stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of Intent
Source: stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three recommendations
Source: stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume/Curriculum Vitae
Source: stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
RequiredNon-refundable application fee (amount not stated on the program page)
Source: stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
WaivedOfficial GRE or GMAT waived unless the program requests scores; waiver conditions include two years of recent full-time computing work experience or a prior graduate degree.
Source: stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 100International applicants; 100 for unconditional admission, 79-99 may require an ESL exam on arrival
Source: stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
Optional — minimum 7.57.5 for unconditional admission; 6.5 allows admission with an ESL test
Source: stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    August 15 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    December 15 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: stcloudstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this online program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Minnesota.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.stcloudstate.edu/programs/ezzWKiV1cgx4Wxf8K3JJ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. stcloudstate.edu/graduate/psm-software-eng/default.aspx — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Minnesota first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Maryland logo

University of Maryland

Master of Engineering in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Master'sMEng
Location: College Park, MDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,567 per credit · Online students — MAGE online courses, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027 · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $47,010 (30 credits × $1,567 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 15, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Arizona State University logo

Arizona State University

Master of Science in Engineering in Engineering Science (Software Engineering) (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Engineering in Engineering Science (Software Engineering)

Engineering Science · Software Engineering

Master'sMSE
Location: Scottsdale, AZSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $605 per credit · Online students — ASU Online graduate rate for most programs, plus program fees · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $18,150 (30 credits × $605 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Michigan–Dearborn logo

University of Michigan–Dearborn

Master of Science in Software Engineering (Online option)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Dearborn, MISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: all work expected within five years of first enrollment (time limit) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with St. Cloud State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.