Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Western Governors University logo

Western Governors University

Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Bachelor'sBSABET: not matchedFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Overview

A fully online, competency-based B.S. in Software Engineering of 39 courses (120 competency units in the program guide), ending with a capstone project. Tuition is a flat rate per six-month term and starts are monthly.

Official program name
Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering
Source: wgu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Engineering major
Source: wgu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: wgu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
Salt Lake City, UTWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Not verified
Required credits
Total CUs 120 (competency units; one CU is equivalent to one semester credit)
Source: wgu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
As quickly as you can master the material, typically less than 3 years (competency-based pace)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: wgu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
1st of every month
Source: wgu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

How students enter this degree

  • First-year entry. High school diploma or equivalent plus one readiness option (e.g., high school GPA 2.75, college coursework GPA 2.25, an associate or bachelor's degree, or an IT certification).associate degree not requiredSource: wgu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Transfer entry. Transfer credits: few accepted, based on certain schools and specific courses.associate degree not requiredSource: wgu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Why this program is listed

Online B.S. in Software Engineering (software major per directory mapping). The page does not claim ABET accreditation for this program.

Source: wgu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: wgu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: wgu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Proctored exams Not verified

    Competency may be demonstrated through proctored exams, projects, essays, research papers and simulations; proctoring arrangements not described.

    Source: wgu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Capstone
RequiredCapstone project: technical work proposal, implementation and post-implementation report
Source: wgu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum

Accelerated options

  • Accelerated pathway to earn both the B.S. and M.S. in Software Engineering in less time
    Source: wgu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredHigh school diploma or equivalent plus one program-readiness option
Source: wgu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
OptionalMinimum 2.25 — One readiness option: college-level coursework with a minimum 2.25 cumulative GPA
Source: wgu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

SAT / ACT
Not required
Source: wgu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Tuition per six-month term$4,125per termSource: wgu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. Many state licensing boards look for EAC-accredited engineering degrees; check the school's statement and your state board. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Utah.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — NWCCU institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. wgu.edu/content/dam/wgu-65-assets/western-governors/documents/program-guides/information-technology/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. wgu.edu/online-it-degrees/software-engineering-bachelors-program.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Utah first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Arizona Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EAC
Location: Tucson, AZSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: $525 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $63,000 (120 credits × $525 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
St. Cloud State University logo

St. Cloud State University

Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Bachelor'sBSE ABET EAC Fully onlineFirst-year entryTransfer entryDegree completion
Location: Saint Cloud, MNSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 122 credits
Tuition: $385.67 per credit · Online students — B.S. Software Engineering online, current estimated rate · year not statedEst. total tuition $47,051.74 (122 credits × $385.67 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 28, 2026 · Spring A 2027
View Program
Penn State World Campus logo

Penn State World Campus

Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EAC · online not listed Fully onlineFirst-year entryTransfer entry
Location: University Park, PASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 126 credits
Tuition: $644 per credit · All students — 2026-27, 11 or fewer credits per semester, 59 or fewer total credits · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $81,144 (126 credits × $644 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: June 30, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Western Governors University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.