Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Western Governors University logo

Western Governors University

Salt Lake City, UTPrivate nonprofit NWCCUOfficial website

Western Governors University is an online, competency-based university whose School of Technology offers a B.S. and an M.S. in Software Engineering. Tuition is charged at a flat rate per six-month term, and start dates fall on the first of every month.

Online engineering programs at Western Governors University

2 eligible programs verified (1 bachelor's, 1 master's); formats: online coursework. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Online Engineering Bachelor's Degrees

Western Governors University logo

Western Governors University

Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Bachelor'sBSABET: not matchedFirst-year entryTransfer entry
Location: Salt Lake City, UTSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: As quickly as you can master the material, typically less than 3 years (competency-based pace) · 120 credits
Tuition: $4,125 per term · All students — Tuition per six-month term · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Online Engineering Master's Degrees

Western Governors University logo

Western Governors University

Master of Science in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science, Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Salt Lake City, UTSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: As quickly as you can master the material, can finish programs in under 2 years (competency-based pace) · 30 credits
Tuition: $4,385 per term · All students — Tuition per six-month term · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Accreditation

  • Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since February 13, 2003 · next review 10/01/2030

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists online engineering bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 majors. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (campus-only degrees, certificates, engineering management or systems engineering, professional doctorates…). Not listing a campus degree says nothing about its quality.
  • B.S. and M.S. Computer Science (online)generic computer science degreeSource: wgu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • B.S. AI Engineering and B.S. Cloud and Network Engineering (online)discipline outside the 22 directory majorsSource: wgu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Accelerated Software Engineering Bachelor's and Master's Degreecombined accelerated pathway; the B.S. and M.S. in Software Engineering are recorded separatelySource: wgu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institution

Official name
Western Governors University
Control
Private nonprofit
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Main location
4001 South 700 East Suite 700, Salt Lake City, UT 84107
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Engineering degrees awarded, all formats (IPEDS CIP 14 engineering codes, first major)
388 bachelor's (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), engineering CIP codes (14.xx) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — NWCCU institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. wgu.edu/online-it-degrees/software-engineering-bachelors-program.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. wgu.edu/online-it-degrees/software-engineering-masters-program.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile