Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Stony Brook University logo

Stony Brook University · Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering Online (EEO) - BS

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering

Electrical Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EACTransfer entrySecond bachelor's

Overview

An upper-division, 120-credit Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering for transfer students who have completed calculus and differential equations. EEO courses are delivered online, labs are done at home with student-purchased equipment, and all exams are proctored locally or through commercial proctoring vendors.

Official program name
Electrical Engineering Online (EEO) - BS
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Engineering major
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Stony Brook, NYWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Not verified
Required credits
Minimum 120 credits for the program
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
upper-level two-year program
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

How students enter this degree

  • Transfer entry. Apply as a transfer student through the SUNY application after completing the admission course requirements.Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Second bachelor's degree. Second bachelor's applicants are considered only if the first degree was in a significantly different field; Electrical Engineering Technology graduates are not considered.Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Completed elsewhere: Calculus I-III and Differential Equations (3.0 GPA, no grade below C) and a WRT 102-equivalent composition course must be completed before admission; non-EE prerequisites and general education are available through SUNY Online partner institutions. Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Only upper-division courses are offered online. Lower-division mathematics, science and introductory engineering courses must be completed before or elsewhere.

Why this program is listed

Upper-division online Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering (degree completion for transfer students).

Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Only upper-division courses are offered online — lower-division courses are completed elsewhere
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verifiedRequired in person: proctored exams
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Part-time
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • Proctored exams Required

    All EEO exams require proctoring; students may use local proctoring facilities or commercial proctoring vendors.

    Local proctoring facilities (proctoring centers, public libraries) or commercial proctoring vendors

    Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Laboratory kit
RequiredStudents purchase equipment to do labs at home; the main item is a USB oscilloscope (approximately $200).
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Design project
RequiredEEO 440 Engineering Design I and EEO 441 Engineering Design II are required courses.
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • 44 credits of required major courses plus 12 credits of technical electives and 6 credits of open electives; 39 credits of prerequisite science, mathematics and technical courses.
    Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other

  • The diploma reads Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering, without the word online.
    Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Up to 84 transfer credits accepted with grades of C or higher.
    Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Accreditation statement on the program's page: The BS program in Electrical Engineering is accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET; accredited since October 1, 2013.
    Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA in Calculus I, II, III and Differential Equations, no grade below C
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Mathematics prerequisites
RequiredCollege Calculus I, II, III and Introduction to Differential Equations
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RequiredMinimum grade of C in an English composition course equivalent to WRT 102
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
RequiredInternational students are accepted but must have a WRT 102-equivalent course, which cannot be transferred from an international school; tuition is charged at the out-of-state rate.
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — NYS resident tuition, undergraduate (Fall 2026 per-credit chart)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$295per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$35,400 = 120 credits × $295 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Online out-of-state rate, undergraduate (Fall 2026/Spring 2027)From the university's online tuition table$353per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$42,360 = 120 credits × $353 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $42,360 (120 credits × $353 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Online out-of-state rate, undergraduate (Fall 2026/Spring 2027), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Typical commercial proctoring fee ($30–$50 per exam) for students who cannot use local proctoring facilities
$30
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • ABET (Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology) (ABET)Status: Accredited · Commission: EAC · Program: Electrical Engineering · Degree: BSAccredited since May 25, 2014 · next review 2030–2031 (next comprehensive review) · ABET lists: Stony Brook University · distance delivery per ABET: All contentABET's record lists the online pathway.Source: amspub.abet.org · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside New York.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

  • Non-NYS resident students without a permanent or local presence in NYS may be eligible for the online out-of-state rate (1.2 times the NYS resident rate); standard fee rates apply.
    Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. ABET accredited program search (data downloaded 2026-10-12) — Accreditor directory, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. stonybrook.edu/eeonline/about.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. stonybrook.edu/eeonline/academics/curriculum.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. stonybrook.edu/eeonline/admissions/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. stonybrook.edu/eeonline/admissions/faq.html — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. stonybrook.edu/sfs/tuition-fees/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. stonybrook.edu/sfs/tuition-fees/Undergraduate%20Tuition%20and%20Fee%20Per%20Credit%20Rate%20Chart.ht — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in New York first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Lamar University logo

Lamar University

B.S. Electrical Engineering (2+2 online path)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science, Major: Electrical Engineering

Electrical Engineering

Bachelor'sB.S. ABET EAC · online not listedDegree completion
Location: Beaumont, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Upper division online only · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online upper-division courses; lower division completed elsewhere; physical attendance not verifiedRemote / kit / virtual labs published
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: $259.49 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Undergraduate, Resident, total tuition for 1 semester credit hour (Fall 2026 and Spring 2027) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $82,498.80 (120 credits × $687.49 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Bachelor of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering (Arizona Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EAC
Location: Tucson, AZSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 128 credits
Tuition: $525 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $67,200 (128 credits × $525 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
National University logo

National University

Bachelor of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EAC Fully onlineFirst-year entry
Location: San Diego, CASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)Remote / kit / virtual labs published
Duration: Finish in 60 months average completion time (average completion time) · 120 credits
Tuition: $640 per credit · All students — Base per credit/unit rate · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Stony Brook University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.