Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
National University logo

National University

Bachelor of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EAC Fully onlineFirst-year entry

Overview

A BS in Electrical and Computer Engineering offered entirely online in a four-week, one-course-at-a-time format, with lab kits for online lab courses, a three-part capstone design sequence and 30 credits required in residence at National University.

Official program name
Bachelor of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering
Source: nu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Engineering major
Source: nu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: nu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
San Diego, CAWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Not verified
Required credits
at least 120 semester credit hours
Source: nu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Finish in 60 months average completion time (average completion time)
Source: nu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

How students enter this degree

  • First-year entry. Prerequisite courses for the major (college algebra and trigonometry, physics, calculus, programming) are part of the program listing; students without transfer credit may need additional general electives.associate degree not requiredSource: nu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Completed elsewhere: 30 credits, including the senior project courses, must be taken in residence at National University. Source: nu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Why this program is listed

BS in Electrical and Computer Engineering offered entirely online (also in person at some campuses).

Source: nu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: nu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: nu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
No required physical attendance (stated by the institution)
Source: nu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Laboratory kit
RequiredStudents in online lab courses order lab kits at least two weeks before the term starts.
Source: nu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other lab arrangement
RequiredLab courses run side by side with lecture courses for eight weeks.
Source: nu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Capstone
RequiredThree-course capstone design sequence (CEE498A, CEE498B, CEE498C); the page describes working with a local company on a project for three months.
Source: nu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Academic calendar

  • Four-week course format, one subject at a time.
    Source: nu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other

  • Applications are reviewed year-round.
    Source: nu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Accreditation statement on the program's page: Accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET under the General Criteria and the Electrical, Computer, Communications, Telecommunication(s) and Similarly Named Engineering Programs Program Criteria.
    Source: nu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Application fee
Not required$0 application fee; no essays or exams
Source: nu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: nu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Base per credit/unit rate$640per creditEstimated tuition$76,800 = 120 credits × $640 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: nu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
All students — Total estimated cost of program$69,000entire programSource: nu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $69,000 (published program total)

Comparison basis: All students — Total estimated cost of program, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • ABET (Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology) (ABET)Status: Accredited · Commission: EAC · Program: Electrical and Computer Engineering · Degree: Bachelor of ScienceAccredited since January 1, 2021 · next review 2028–2029 (next comprehensive review) · ABET lists: Main Campus · distance delivery per ABET: All contentABET's record lists the online pathway.Source: amspub.abet.org · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside California.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. ABET accredited program search (data downloaded 2026-10-12) — Accreditor directory, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — WSCUC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. nu.edu/admissions/tuition/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. nu.edu/degrees/engineering-data-and-computer-sciences/programs/bachelor-of-science-electrical-comput — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in California first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Lamar University logo

Lamar University

B.S. Electrical Engineering (2+2 online path)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science, Major: Electrical Engineering

Electrical Engineering

Bachelor'sB.S. ABET EAC · online not listedDegree completion
Location: Beaumont, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Upper division online only · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online upper-division courses; lower division completed elsewhere; physical attendance not verifiedRemote / kit / virtual labs published
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: $259.49 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Undergraduate, Resident, total tuition for 1 semester credit hour (Fall 2026 and Spring 2027) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $82,498.80 (120 credits × $687.49 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Bachelor of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering (Arizona Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EAC
Location: Tucson, AZSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 128 credits
Tuition: $525 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $67,200 (128 credits × $525 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program

University of North Dakota

Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering

Electrical Engineering

Bachelor'sBSEE ABET EAC Fully onlineFirst-year entryTransfer entry
Location: Grand Forks, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)Remote / kit / virtual labs published
Duration: 4-5 years (depends on course load) · 126 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with National University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.