Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Kansas State University logo

Kansas State University

Civil Engineering Master's Degree (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering

Master'sMS

Overview

A 30-credit online Master of Science in Civil Engineering with five areas of concentration (environmental, geotechnical, structural, transportation, water resources). Coursework is offered 100% online; students travel once to the Manhattan campus for an oral examination at the end of the program.

Official program name
Civil Engineering Master's Degree (Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Civil Engineering
Source: online.k-state.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: online.k-state.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: online.k-state.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
Manhattan, KSWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Published specializations
Environmental · Geotechnical · Structural · Transportation · Water Resources
Source: online.k-state.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Thesis / non-thesis
Not verified
Required credits
30 credit hours
Source: online.k-state.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online MS in Civil Engineering; the catalog states the degree can be pursued online through the K-State global campus.

Source: online.k-state.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: online.k-state.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: online.k-state.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
Limited campus visits requiredRequired in person: campus visit
Source: online.k-state.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Campus visit Required

    Trip to the Manhattan, Kansas, campus for an oral examination at the end of the program.

    once, at the end of the program · Manhattan, Kansas, campus

    Source: online.k-state.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.

Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Catalog options: coursework-only (30 course credits and a final exam), thesis (24 + 6) or project (28 + 2).
    Source: catalog.k-state.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree in civil engineering from an ABET-accredited institution
Source: online.k-state.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of objectives
Source: online.k-state.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Names and emails of three professional and/or academic references
Source: online.k-state.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — At least two of the three letters must be from faculty members with direct knowledge of the applicant's academic work.
Source: online.k-state.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts from each institution attended
Source: online.k-state.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
RequiredOnly for applicants whose bachelor's is not from an ABET-accredited institution; 80th percentile on the quantitative portion.
Source: online.k-state.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Graduate Online Annual Estimate 2026-2027, Manhattan Online: estimated tuition and mandatory fees for an academic year (calculated at 18 credit hours per year)From the university's online tuition table$11,142per academic year · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: k-state.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published fees

Carl R. Ice College of Engineering online course fee (faculty salary tuition surcharge), per credit hour
$289.70 per creditMandatory
Source: online.k-state.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Kansas.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.k-state.edu/programs/MCE/about-the-program-aoYks — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. online.k-state.edu/paying-for-school/tuition-fees.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. online.k-state.edu/programs/civil-engineering-masters/index.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  5. k-state.edu/sfa/cost/online-costs/graduate.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Kansas first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Iowa State University logo

Iowa State University

Civil Engineering - Master's (Online M.Engr. or M.S.)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering or Master of Science in Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering

Master'sM.Engr./M.S. Fully online
Location: Ames, IASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 1 year+ · 30 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $27,000 (30 credits × $900 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Idaho logo

University of Idaho

Civil Engineering, M.Engr. (online through Engineering Outreach)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering

Master'sM.Engr.
Location: Moscow, IDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: proctored exams
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $655 per credit · Online students — Graduate, registered for all online courses only, part-time (1-8 credits), Idaho residents and out-of-state · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $19,650 (30 credits × $655 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Johns Hopkins University logo

Johns Hopkins University

Master of Civil Engineering (Online, Part-Time)

Awarded degree: Master of Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering

Master'sMCE Fully online
Location: Baltimore, MDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: within five years (maximum time to complete the ten courses)
Tuition: $5,620 per course · All students — Engineering for Professionals graduate (600-level and higher) course, after Dean's support · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Kansas State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.