Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Florida International University logo

Florida International University · College of Engineering and Computing, Division of External Programs

Online Master of Science in Computer Engineering: Emerging Technologies

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Computer Engineering

Computer Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online

Overview

A 30-credit, lock-step online Master of Science in Computer Engineering with a core in applied AI, data engineering, cybersecurity policy, machine learning and ethical hacking, plus 9 credits in an Area of Interest. The page lists a 10-month completion time and approximate tuition of $25,000.

Official program name
Online Master of Science in Computer Engineering: Emerging Technologies
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Computer Engineering
Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: cec.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Miami, FLWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Published specializations
Areas of Interest: Cybersecurity, Artificial Intelligence, Robotics and Automation (from Fall 2027), Quantum (from Fall 2027)
Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Thesis / non-thesis
Coursework only
Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
30 semester hours beyond the bachelor's degree
Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
10-month completion time
Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Spring
Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Fully online Master of Science in Computer Engineering (Emerging Technologies pathway); the former Security pathway URL now redirects to this page.

Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
No required physical attendance (stated by the institution)
Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.

Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Lock-step sequence of courses plus Area of Interest courses
    Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

  • Areas of Interest: Cybersecurity, Artificial Intelligence, Robotics and Automation (from Fall 2027), Quantum (from Fall 2027)
    Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree in electrical engineering, computer engineering, or a related STEM field
Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — 3.0 GPA in the last 60 semester hours of upper-level undergraduate work
Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Mathematics prerequisites
RequiredMAC 1147 Precalculus Algebra and Trigonometry and MAC 1105 College Algebra or equivalent with C or higher
Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of objective stating the intended engineering track
Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume
Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
RequiredFully online degree; not eligible for F-1 student visas
Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 80For applicants whose bachelor's degree is from a country whose official language is not English; 80 internet-based or 550 paper-based.
Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 6.5Alternative to TOEFL for English proficiency.
Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duolingo English Test
Optional — minimum 110Accepted for English proficiency.
Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadlineDomestic applicants

    Dec. 15 · for Spring 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Approximate tuition for the academic year$25,000per academic yearSource: dep.fiu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. cec.fiu.edu/degrees-programs/online/index.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. dep.fiu.edu/academics/degrees/graduate/msce-emerging — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. fiuonline.fiu.edu/about-us/state-authorizations-and-partnerships.php — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Florida first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Florida logo

University of Florida

Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering (Online, UF EDGE)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Gainesville, FLSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: as little as 24 months (UF EDGE master's degrees generally) · 30 credits
Tuition: $448.73 per credit · Resident (in-state) — EDGE-Florida Residents, tuition per credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $20,700 (30 credits × $690 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Iowa State University logo

Iowa State University

Computer Engineering - Master's (Online Master of Engineering)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Computer Engineering

Computer Engineering

Master'sM.Engr. Fully online
Location: Ames, IASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 1 year+ · 30 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $27,000 (30 credits × $900 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Idaho logo

University of Idaho

Computer Engineering, M.S. (online through Engineering Outreach)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Computer Engineering

Computer Engineering

Master'sM.S.
Location: Moscow, IDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: proctored exams
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $655 per credit · Online students — Graduate, registered for all online courses only, part-time (1-8 credits), Idaho residents and out-of-state · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $19,650 (30 credits × $655 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Florida International University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.