Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
University of Colorado Boulder logo

University of Colorado Boulder · Department of Electrical, Computer & Energy Engineering

Professional Master of Science in Electrical & Computer Engineering (online subplans)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Electrical & Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

Master'sMS

Overview

The Professional MS in Electrical & Computer Engineering is a 30-credit, subplan-based, non-thesis degree for working professionals. The Embedded Systems Engineering, Power Electronics and Next Generation Power & Energy Systems subplans can be completed online; tuition follows the university's professional master's in engineering rates, which differ for in-state and out-of-state students.

Official program name
Professional Master of Science in Electrical & Computer Engineering (online subplans)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Electrical & Computer Engineering
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Boulder, COWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Published specializations
Embedded Systems Engineering · Power Electronics · Next Generation Power & Energy Systems
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Thesis / non-thesis
Coursework only
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
minimum of 30 semester hours, subplan specific
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
full-time students typically two years or less; full-time workers typically 2-5 years (typical completion)
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Professional MS in Electrical & Computer Engineering; three of its five subplans can be completed online (High-Speed Digital and Quantum Engineering are in-person only).

Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026

The pages we checked do not say whether campus visits, lab sessions, proctored exams at a center or other in-person requirements apply. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.

Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Academic calendar

  • Power electronics subplan: the main core course ECEN 5797 is offered only in the fall.
    Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredAccredited Bachelor of Science in a STEM program, preferably engineering or natural/physical sciences
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — GPA of 3.0 or higher
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose, no longer than 750 words
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$60 — $60 domestic, $80 international
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Final deadline

    September 1 at 10pm MST · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Final deadline

    February 15 at 10pm MST · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Professional Masters in Engineering, 3 credit hours per semester, in-stateFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$4,452per semester · 2026-2027Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Professional Masters in Engineering, 3 credit hours per semester, out-of-state/internationalFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$5,604per semester · 2026-2027Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published fees

Fall/Spring student fees (per semester, by credit load)
$149 per semesterMandatory
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

  • No department funding for master's students Other fundingStated for all eligible studentsNot open to distance students (stated)

    Eligibility: The department does not provide funding for master's students.

    Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Colorado.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. colorado.edu/bursar/costs/graduate-costs/professional-masters/professional-masters-engineering — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. colorado.edu/ecee/academics/graduate-programs/professional-masters — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. colorado.edu/ecee/academics/graduate-programs/professional-masters/embedded-systems-engineering-and- — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. colorado.edu/ecee/academics/graduate-programs/professional-masters/next-generation-power-and-energy- — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. colorado.edu/ecee/academics/graduate-programs/professional-masters/power-electronics — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. colorado.edu/ecee/academics/online-programs — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. colorado.edu/ecee/admissions/graduate-admissions — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Colorado first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Colorado State University logo

Colorado State University

Master of Engineering, Plan C (Online specializations)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Biomedical Engineering, Aerospace Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Computer Engineering

Master'sMEConcentration
Location: Fort Collins, COSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: can be completed in 2 years · 30 credits
Tuition: $747 per credit · Online students — Electrical and Computer Engineering specializations · year not statedEst. total tuition $29,760 (30 credits × $992 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Colorado State University logo

Colorado State University

Master of Science in Electrical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Electrical Engineering

Electrical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Fort Collins, COSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: can be completed in 2 years · 30 credits
Tuition: $747 per credit · Online students · year not statedEst. total tuition $22,410 (30 credits × $747 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Kansas State University logo

Kansas State University

Electrical and Computer Engineering Master's Degree (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Manhattan, KSSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: campus visit
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $11,142 per academic year · All students — Graduate Online Annual Estimate 2026-2027, Manhattan Online: estimated tuition and mandatory fees for an academic year (calculated at 18 credit hours per year) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Colorado Boulder. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.