Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
University of Colorado Boulder logo

University of Colorado Boulder · Department of Electrical, Computer & Energy Engineering

Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering on Coursera (MS-ECE)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online

Overview

The MS-ECE on Coursera is a 30-credit, 100% online master's degree with performance-based admission: students are admitted after completing a pathway specialization for credit with a GPA of 3.0 or better. Tuition is $667 per credit hour ($20,010 for 30 credits), the same for all students regardless of residency; exams are proctored online.

Official program name
Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering on Coursera (MS-ECE)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Boulder, COWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Not verified
Required credits
30 credit hours
Source: online.colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Fully online MS in Electrical and Computer Engineering offered by CU Boulder on the Coursera platform; same credential as the on-campus program.

Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: online.colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: online.colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
No required physical attendance (stated by the institution)
Source: online.colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Proctored exams Required

    Exams are proctored online through ProctorU using a computer and webcam.

    Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Laboratory kit
Some courses may require a lab or development kit.
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Academic calendar

Other

  • No online or Coursera designation on transcripts, diplomas or certificates.
    Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Not currently eligible for U.S. federal financial aid; no scholarships currently available.
    Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Recommendation letters
Not requiredNo letters of recommendation
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
Not requiredNo transcripts or letters of recommendation
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredPerformance-based admission: complete one for-credit pathway specialization with a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better; no traditional application.
Source: online.colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Not required
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$667per creditEstimated tuition$20,010 = 30 credits × $667 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026
All students — Total for 30 credits$20,010entire programSource: online.colorado.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $20,010 (published program total)

Comparison basis: All students — Total for 30 credits, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Colorado.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. online.colorado.edu/electrical-computer-engineering-ms — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. colorado.edu/ecee/academics/online-programs — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. colorado.edu/ecee/academics/online-programs/ms-ece-coursera — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. colorado.edu/ecee/current-students/ms-ece-coursera-faq — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Colorado first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Colorado State University logo

Colorado State University

Master of Engineering, Plan C (Online specializations)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Biomedical Engineering, Aerospace Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Computer Engineering

Master'sMEConcentration
Location: Fort Collins, COSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: can be completed in 2 years · 30 credits
Tuition: $747 per credit · Online students — Electrical and Computer Engineering specializations · year not statedEst. total tuition $29,760 (30 credits × $992 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Colorado State University logo

Colorado State University

Master of Science in Electrical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Electrical Engineering

Electrical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Fort Collins, COSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: can be completed in 2 years · 30 credits
Tuition: $747 per credit · Online students · year not statedEst. total tuition $22,410 (30 credits × $747 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Kansas State University logo

Kansas State University

Electrical and Computer Engineering Master's Degree (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Manhattan, KSSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: campus visit
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $11,142 per academic year · All students — Graduate Online Annual Estimate 2026-2027, Manhattan Online: estimated tuition and mandatory fees for an academic year (calculated at 18 credit hours per year) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Colorado Boulder. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.