Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Texas Tech University logo

Texas Tech University · Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Online Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMS

Overview

A 30-credit MS in Mechanical Engineering available via distance and described as finishable in about two years; the thesis option is on campus only.

Official program name
Online Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering
Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Lubbock, TXWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Non-thesis
Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
30 credits
Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
approximately 2 years
Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

MS in Mechanical Engineering offered via distance; thesis option is on-campus only.

Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Online scope not verified
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Proctored exams Not verified

    Exams are administered through the learning management system or other means chosen by the instructor.

    Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.

Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Other

  • Online students living outside Texas with no active Texas address may qualify for in-state tuition (Non-Resident Distance Education rates).
    Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Online students must take at least one class each fall and spring semester.
    Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tests

GRE General Test
OptionalCollege online-learning FAQ: GRE currently optional for all graduate programs
Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Estimate per three-credit online graduate engineering courseFrom the university's online tuition table$2,500per courseSource: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Texas.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. depts.ttu.edu/coe/online-learning/FAQ.php — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. depts.ttu.edu/me/grad/ms/index.php — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. depts.ttu.edu/me/grad/ms/onlinemasterofMechanicalEngineeringdegree.php — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. depts.ttu.edu/online/affordable/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Texas first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University

Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMEng
Location: College Station, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Houston logo

University of Houston

Online Master of Mechanical Engineering (MME, UH Extend)

Awarded degree: Master of Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMME Fully online
Location: Houston, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: ~1.5–2.5 years at two courses per term; ~2.5–3.5 years at one course per term (sample pacing plans) · 30 credits
Tuition: $745 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $22,350 (30 credits × $745 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Houston logo

University of Houston

Online MS in Mechanical Engineering (UH Extend)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMSME Fully online
Location: Houston, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $745 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $22,350 (30 credits × $745 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Texas Tech University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.