Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Virginia Tech logo

Virginia Tech · Kevin T. Crofton Department of Aerospace and Ocean Engineering

Master of Engineering in Aerospace Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Aerospace Engineering

Aerospace Engineering

Master'sMEng

Overview

A 30-credit, non-thesis Master of Engineering in Aerospace Engineering offered through the department's distance-learning program, with a project and report and a final comprehensive oral exam; the catalog lists the program on the Blacksburg and Virtual campuses.

Official program name
Master of Engineering in Aerospace Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Engineering in Aerospace Engineering
Source: aoe.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: aoe.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: aoe.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: aoe.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Blacksburg, VAWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Project
Source: catalog.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
30 credit hours minimum
Source: catalog.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: catalog.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

M.Eng. in aerospace engineering listed among the degrees offered online by the department's distance-learning program; the catalog lists Blacksburg and Virtual campuses.

Source: aoe.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: aoe.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Online scope not verified
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verifiedRequired in person: other in-person requirement
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Other in-person requirement Required

    Final comprehensive oral exam upon completion of degree requirements; format/location not stated.

    Source: aoe.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Other in-person requirement Not verified

    Catalog lists AOE 5944 AOE Seminar (at least two semesters, no degree credit) among core courses as Blacksburg campus only; how this applies to distance students is not stated.

    Source: catalog.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Design project
RequiredProject and report (AOE 5904, 3–6 credits); may be carried out with other students.
Source: aoe.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Core courses AOE 5024, 5104, 5204, 5404; at least 18 credits of graded graduate-level courses.
    Source: catalog.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Comprehensive examination

  • Final comprehensive oral exam required of all students.
    Source: aoe.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other

  • Catalog lists the program on the Blacksburg and Virtual campuses.
    Source: catalog.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Up to 50% of courses on the Plan of Study may be transferred, subject to Advisory Committee approval.
    Source: catalog.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree, typically in engineering, mathematics, or physics
Source: aoe.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum GPA 3.0 (graduate catalog)
Source: catalog.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation; may be uploaded during review
Source: catalog.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Optional
Source: catalog.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 6.5International applicants; alternative to TOEFL
Source: catalog.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Dec 30 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: catalog.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    Sep 1 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: catalog.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Graduate Extended or Virtual Campus, Tuition - Virginia ResidentFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,027per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$30,810 = 30 credits × $1,027 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: bursar.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate Extended or Virtual Campus, Tuition - Non-Virginia ResidentFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,996.75per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$59,902.50 = 30 credits × $1,996.75 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: bursar.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $59,902.50 (30 credits × $1,996.75 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate Extended or Virtual Campus, Tuition - Non-Virginia Resident, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Engineering Supplemental Fee, graduate part-time (1-6 credit hours)
$500 per semesterMandatory
Source: bursar.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Engineering Supplemental Fee, graduate full-time (7 or more credit hours)
$1,000 per semesterMandatory
Source: bursar.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Virginia Tech is an institutional participant in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA) arrangement. Official pageSource: vtonline.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.vt.edu/graduate/degree-programs/aerospace-engineering/aerospace-engineering-meng/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. vtonline.vt.edu/State-Authorizations-SARA.html — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. aoe.vt.edu/graduate/degrees-and-certificates/master-of-engineering.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. aoe.vt.edu/graduate/distance-learning.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. aoe.vt.edu/graduate/graduate-admissions.html — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. bursar.vt.edu/content/dam/bursar_vt_edu/tuition/ay-2627/2026-2027%20Tuition%20%20Fee%20Rates%20with% — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Virginia first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Master of Engineering (Online) - Aerospace or Mechanical Engineering concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMEConcentration
Location: Norfolk, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $672 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia residents (rates effective Fall 2026) · year not statedEst. total tuition $19,860 (30 credits × $662 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Master of Science in Engineering (Online) - Aerospace, Electrical and Computer, or Environmental Engineering concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Environmental Engineering

Master'sMSConcentration
Location: Norfolk, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $672 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia residents (rates effective Fall 2026) · year not statedEst. total tuition $19,860 (30 credits × $662 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Iowa State University logo

Iowa State University

Aerospace Engineering - Master's (Online Master of Engineering)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Aerospace Engineering

Aerospace Engineering

Master'sM.Engr. Fully online
Location: Ames, IASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 1 year+ · 30 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $27,000 (30 credits × $900 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Virginia Tech. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.