Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Virginia Tech logo

Virginia Tech · Kevin T. Crofton Department of Aerospace and Ocean Engineering

Master of Science in Ocean Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Ocean Engineering

Ocean Engineering

Master'sMS

Overview

A 30-credit online MS in Ocean Engineering focused on naval ship design, with thesis and non-thesis tracks. Courses combine prerecorded lectures with a weekly live online class meeting, and all students take a final comprehensive oral exam.

Official program name
Master of Science in Ocean Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Ocean Engineering
Source: aoe.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: aoe.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: aoe.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: aoe.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Blacksburg, VAWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Thesis · Non-thesis
Source: vtonline.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
Thirty credit hours
Source: vtonline.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

MS in Ocean Engineering (naval engineering focus) offered through the department's distance-learning program.

Source: aoe.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: vtonline.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: aoe.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verifiedRequired in person: other in-person requirement
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: vtonline.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Other in-person requirement Required

    Final comprehensive oral exam upon completion of degree requirements; format/location not stated.

    Source: vtonline.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Capstone
OptionalNon-thesis students take 6 credits of Project and Report or the two-course Naval Ship Design capstone.
Source: vtonline.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree, typically in engineering, mathematics, or physics
Source: aoe.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 3 — 3.0 GPA or better on a 4.0 scale strongly recommended
Source: aoe.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: aoe.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: aoe.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredInternational applicants; a score of 90 or higher is strongly recommended.
Source: aoe.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    September 1 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: vtonline.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    December 30 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: vtonline.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Graduate Extended or Virtual Campus, Tuition - Virginia ResidentFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,027per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$30,810 = 30 credits × $1,027 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: bursar.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate Extended or Virtual Campus, Tuition - Non-Virginia ResidentFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,996.75per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$59,902.50 = 30 credits × $1,996.75 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: bursar.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $59,902.50 (30 credits × $1,996.75 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate Extended or Virtual Campus, Tuition - Non-Virginia Resident, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Engineering Supplemental Fee, graduate part-time (1-6 credit hours)
$500 per semesterMandatory
Source: bursar.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Engineering Supplemental Fee, graduate full-time (7 or more credit hours)
$1,000 per semesterMandatory
Source: bursar.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Virginia Tech is an institutional participant in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA) arrangement. Official pageSource: vtonline.vt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. vtonline.vt.edu/MastersDegrees/Ocean-Engineering.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. vtonline.vt.edu/State-Authorizations-SARA.html — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. aoe.vt.edu/graduate/degrees-and-certificates/master-of-engineering.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. aoe.vt.edu/graduate/distance-learning.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. aoe.vt.edu/graduate/graduate-admissions.html — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. bursar.vt.edu/content/dam/bursar_vt_edu/tuition/ay-2627/2026-2027%20Tuition%20%20Fee%20Rates%20with% — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Virginia first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University

Master of Engineering in Ocean Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Ocean Engineering

Ocean Engineering

Master'sMEng Fully online
Location: College Station, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University

Master of Science in Ocean Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Ocean Engineering

Ocean Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: College Station, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Virginia Tech. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.