Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology logo

South Dakota School of Mines and Technology · Mining Engineering and Management Department

Master of Science in Mining Engineering & Management (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mining Engineering & Management

Mining Engineering

Master'sMS

Overview

A 33-credit MS in Mining Engineering & Management. The online pathway is the non-thesis option, offered in three specializations; non-thesis students are not eligible for assistantships. Distance courses with the MEM prefix carry an institutional fee for nonresidents.

Official program name
Master of Science in Mining Engineering & Management (Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Mining Engineering & Management
Source: sdsmt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: sdsmt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: sdsmt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: sdsmt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Rapid City, SDWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Published specializations
Mineral Industries Management · Mining Engineering · Mining Industry Applications
Source: sdsmt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Thesis / non-thesis
Non-thesis
Source: sdsmt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
Total credits: 33
Source: sdsmt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: sdsmt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

MS whose official title names Mining Engineering; the non-thesis option is offered in person or online.

Source: sdsmt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: sdsmt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: sdsmt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether campus visits, lab sessions, proctored exams at a center or other in-person requirements apply. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Other practical requirement
Non-thesis option: no thesis; a project may be required.
Source: sdsmt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RecommendedBachelor's degree in engineering (criteria may not be strict thresholds)
Source: sdsmt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 3 — 3.0 GPA on 4.0 scale (criteria may not be strict thresholds)
Source: sdsmt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredNon-thesis/online admission materials: statement of purpose, unofficial transcripts, English proficiency scores, CV.
Source: sdsmt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCV
Source: sdsmt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts
Source: sdsmt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    February 1 (applications considered after the deadline) · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: sdsmt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Priority deadline

    August 1 (applications considered after the deadline) · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: sdsmt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Distance courses (SD nonresident), tuition per creditFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$519per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$17,127 = 33 credits × $519 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: sdsmt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $17,127 (33 credits × $519 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Distance courses (SD nonresident), tuition per credit, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Institutional fees per credit for distance courses with prefixes CEM, ENGM and MEM (waived for SD residents)
$188 per creditMandatory
Source: sdsmt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

  • Graduate assistantships AssistantshipCompetitiveNot open to distance students (stated)

    Eligibility: Non-thesis (in-person or online) option: not eligible for assistantships

    Source: sdsmt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. sdsmt.edu/about/state-authorization.html — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. sdsmt.edu/academics/explore-all-programs/mining-engineering-management-ms.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. sdsmt.edu/admissions-aid/tuition-and-fees/graduate-tuition-and-fees.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in South Dakota first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Master of Engineering in Mining, Geological and Geophysical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Mining, Geological and Geophysical Engineering

Mining Engineering

Master'sME Fully online
Location: Tucson, AZSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: most part-time students complete the program in 18-24 months (part-time) · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,000 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $30,000 (30 credits × $1,000 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with South Dakota School of Mines and Technology. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.