Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Missouri University of Science and Technology logo

Missouri University of Science and Technology

Master of Science in Computer Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Computer Engineering

Computer Engineering

Master'sMS

Overview

An online Master of Science in Computer Engineering with thesis and non-thesis options, both requiring 30 credit hours, and specialization areas in digital systems design, embedded computer systems, and systems, intelligence and software engineering.

Official program name
Master of Science in Computer Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Computer Engineering
Source: online.mst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: online.mst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: online.mst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
Rolla, MOWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Published specializations
Digital Systems Design · Embedded Computer Systems · Systems, Intelligence, and Software Engineering
Source: online.mst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Thesis / non-thesis
Thesis · Non-thesis
Source: online.mst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
30 credit hours
Source: online.mst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Listed by Missouri S&T Online among its online graduate degrees (MS); program page states students in all states are eligible to enroll.

Source: online.mst.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: online.mst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Online scope not verified
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether campus visits, lab sessions, proctored exams at a center or other in-person requirements apply. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.

Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree in a related field from an ABET-accredited university (or international equivalent)
Source: online.mst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3.3 — Undergraduate GPA of 3.3 or higher
Source: online.mst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose, 2-3 paragraphs
Source: online.mst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three recommenders listed in the application
Source: online.mst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume
Source: online.mst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Not requiredNo application fee
Source: online.mst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts for admission decision; official transcripts before the second semester
Source: online.mst.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
RequiredV+Q of 305 or higher; Q 155 or higher; writing 3.5 or higher.
Source: online.mst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 6.5International applicants; TOEFL 80 also accepted.
Source: online.mst.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Graduate Online Programs (unless otherwise noted)From the university's online tuition table$1,200per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$36,000 = 30 credits × $1,200 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.mst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
U.S. Military Rate (eligible military service members and families)From the university's online tuition table$795per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$23,850 = 30 credits × $795 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.mst.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $36,000 (30 credits × $1,200 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Graduate Online Programs (unless otherwise noted), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Miner Book Bundle fee (in addition to tuition)
Amount not stated
Source: online.mst.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Students residing in all states are eligible to enroll in this program. Official pageSource: online.mst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • States require that Missouri University of Science and Technology be authorized to deliver university-level distance/online education to their residents. Official pageSource: online.mst.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. online.mst.edu/admissions/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. online.mst.edu/admissions/masters-degree-applicants/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. online.mst.edu/distance-tuition/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. online.mst.edu/onlineprograms/online-graduate-degrees/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. online.mst.edu/onlineprograms/online-graduate-degrees/civil-engineering/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. online.mst.edu/onlineprograms/online-graduate-degrees/computer-engineering/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Missouri first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Iowa State University logo

Iowa State University

Computer Engineering - Master's (Online Master of Engineering)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Computer Engineering

Computer Engineering

Master'sM.Engr. Fully online
Location: Ames, IASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 1 year+ · 30 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $27,000 (30 credits × $900 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Idaho logo

University of Idaho

Computer Engineering, M.S. (online through Engineering Outreach)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Computer Engineering

Computer Engineering

Master'sM.S.
Location: Moscow, IDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: proctored exams
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $655 per credit · Online students — Graduate, registered for all online courses only, part-time (1-8 credits), Idaho residents and out-of-state · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $19,650 (30 credits × $655 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Kansas State University logo

Kansas State University

Electrical and Computer Engineering Master's Degree (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Manhattan, KSSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: campus visit
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $11,142 per academic year · All students — Graduate Online Annual Estimate 2026-2027, Manhattan Online: estimated tuition and mandatory fees for an academic year (calculated at 18 credit hours per year) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Missouri University of Science and Technology. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.