Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net

Online Engineering Master's Degrees

Online master's degrees in engineering — Master of Science (MS, MSE), Master of Engineering (MEng) and discipline awards such as the MSME or MSEE. Programs differ in thesis and non-thesis options, research versus professional focus, prerequisite or bridge requirements for applicants from other fields, and whether any campus visits are required.

260 programs · page 13 of 13

Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking. What we list

260

verified online master's programs

104

fully online (stated, no attendance)

15

require some physical attendance

88

GRE not required (stated)

University of Wisconsin–Madison logo

University of Wisconsin–Madison

Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering: Power Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Madison, WISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: 2–4 years · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,600 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $48,000 (30 credits × $1,600 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
University of Wisconsin–Platteville logo

University of Wisconsin–Platteville

Master of Science in Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Engineering

General engineering (broad degree)

Master'sMSENGRConcentration Fully online
Location: Platteville, WISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: as little as 18 months · 31 credits
Tuition: $804.06 per credit · Online students — Online delivery, Master of Science in Engineering · year not statedEst. total tuition $24,925.86 (31 credits × $804.06 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Virginia Tech logo

Virginia Tech

Master of Engineering in Aerospace Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Aerospace Engineering

Aerospace Engineering

Master'sMEng
Location: Blacksburg, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: other in-person requirement
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,027 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Extended or Virtual Campus, Tuition - Virginia Resident · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $59,902.50 (30 credits × $1,996.75 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Virginia Tech logo

Virginia Tech

Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMEng
Location: Blacksburg, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: orientation
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,027 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Extended or Virtual Campus, Tuition - Virginia Resident · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $59,902.50 (30 credits × $1,996.75 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: August 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program
Virginia Tech logo

Virginia Tech

Master of Engineering in Nuclear Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Nuclear Engineering

Nuclear Engineering

Master'sMEng
Location: Blacksburg, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,027 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Extended or Virtual Campus, Tuition - Virginia Resident · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $59,902.50 (30 credits × $1,996.75 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: August 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program
Virginia Tech logo

Virginia Tech

Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering

Aerospace Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Blacksburg, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: other in-person requirement
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,027 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Extended or Virtual Campus, Tuition - Virginia Resident · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $59,902.50 (30 credits × $1,996.75 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Virginia Tech logo

Virginia Tech

Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering, non-thesis (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Blacksburg, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,027 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Extended or Virtual Campus, Tuition - Virginia Resident · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $59,902.50 (30 credits × $1,996.75 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: August 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program
Virginia Tech logo

Virginia Tech

Master of Science in Ocean Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Ocean Engineering

Ocean Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Blacksburg, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: other in-person requirement
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,027 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Extended or Virtual Campus, Tuition - Virginia Resident · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $59,902.50 (30 credits × $1,996.75 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Wayne State University logo

Wayne State University

Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering: Injury Biomechanics (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Detroit, MISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,005.13 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate School Tuition, Masters and Doctoral - per credit hour, James and Patricia Anderson College of Engineering, In-state · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $60,447 (30 credits × $2,014.90 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Wayne State University logo

Wayne State University

Master of Science in Electrical Engineering: Semiconductor Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Electrical Engineering

Electrical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Detroit, MISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: One to two years to degree completion (full-time study) (full-time; stated for the M.S. in electrical engineering overall) · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,005.13 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate School Tuition, Masters and Doctoral - per credit hour, James and Patricia Anderson College of Engineering, In-state · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $60,447 (30 credits × $2,014.90 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Wayne State University logo

Wayne State University

Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering: Energy Storage and Vehicle Science (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMSME
Location: Detroit, MISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 32 credits
Tuition: $1,005.13 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate School Tuition, Masters and Doctoral - per credit hour, James and Patricia Anderson College of Engineering, In-state · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $64,476.80 (32 credits × $2,014.90 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

West Texas A&M University

Master of Science in Engineering (online non-thesis option)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Engineering

General Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Canyon, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Western Governors University logo

Western Governors University

Master of Science in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science, Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Salt Lake City, UTSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: As quickly as you can master the material, can finish programs in under 2 years (competency-based pace) · 30 credits
Tuition: $4,385 per term · All students — Tuition per six-month term · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Worcester Polytechnic Institute logo

Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering

Aerospace Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Worcester, MASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,775 per credit · All students — Graduate Tuition and Fees: Per Credit Tuition (2026-2027, general graduate rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $53,250 (30 credits × $1,775 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Worcester Polytechnic Institute logo

Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Master of Science in Electrical & Computer Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Worcester, MASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,775 per credit · All students — Graduate Tuition and Fees: Per Credit Tuition (2026-2027, general graduate rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $53,250 (30 credits × $1,775 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Worcester Polytechnic Institute logo

Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Master of Science in Environmental Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Environmental Engineering

Environmental Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Worcester, MASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 33 credits
Tuition: $1,775 per credit · All students — Graduate Tuition and Fees: Per Credit Tuition (2026-2027, general graduate rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $58,575 (33 credits × $1,775 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Worcester Polytechnic Institute logo

Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Master of Science in Materials Science & Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Materials Science & Engineering

Materials Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Worcester, MASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: only two years · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,775 per credit · All students — Graduate Tuition and Fees: Per Credit Tuition (2026-2027, general graduate rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $53,250 (30 credits × $1,775 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Worcester Polytechnic Institute logo

Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Worcester, MASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: only two years · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,775 per credit · All students — Graduate Tuition and Fees: Per Credit Tuition (2026-2027, general graduate rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $53,250 (30 credits × $1,775 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Worcester Polytechnic Institute logo

Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Master of Science in Robotics Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Robotics Engineering

Robotics Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Worcester, MASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,775 per credit · All students — Graduate Tuition and Fees: Per Credit Tuition (2026-2027, general graduate rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $53,250 (30 credits × $1,775 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Location: Dayton, OHSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $800 per credit · Resident (in-state) — College of Engineering and Computer Science Tuition (1-10.5 hours), Ohio Resident · year not statedEst. total tuition $38,640 (30 credits × $1,288 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Looking for an editorial selection rather than the full directory? See Best Online Engineering Schools and Programs.

MS, MEng and the other master's awards

Master of Science (MS, MSE, MSME, MSEE…) — 176 programs

Often offered with a thesis option and positioned as preparation for research or doctoral study as well as practice. Online MS students usually take the non-thesis route; where a thesis is allowed at a distance, the program says how research supervision works.

Master of Engineering (MEng) — 65 programs

A professional, coursework-based degree — sometimes with a project or capstone — aimed at practicing engineers. It is generally not designed as a route to a PhD. Neither award is “better”; they serve different purposes. MS vs MEng

  • 89 programs publish a thesis option and 185 publish a non-thesis, project or coursework-only option (thesis vs non-thesis).
  • 63 programs state part-time study; most online engineering master's students study part-time while working.
  • 71 programs publish mathematics, engineering or bridge prerequisites — relevant if your bachelor's is not in engineering (applying without an engineering bachelor's).

Tuition on one comparable basis

Estimated total tuition = published per-credit rate × published required credits, or a published whole-program figure; the rate for all online students or, where rates differ, the nonresident rate. Fees and travel are excluded. 185 of 260 programs publish enough to compare. Method and full table: affordable online engineering master's.

Online engineering master's programs by estimated total tuition (published rate × required credits, fees excluded).
School and programFormatPublished rate usedCreditsEstimated total tuition
University of AlabamaMaster of Science (MS) in Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics OnlineOnline + required attendance$480 per creditAll students · year not stated30$14,400rate × credits
University of AlabamaMaster of Science (MS) in Mechanical Engineering OnlineOnline + required attendance$480 per creditAll students · year not stated30$14,400rate × credits
South Dakota School of Mines and TechnologyMaster of Science in Civil & Environmental Engineering — Sustainable Engineering Specialization (Online)Online$519 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Distance courses (SD nonresident), tuition per credit · 2026-202730$15,570rate × credits
South Dakota School of Mines and TechnologyMaster of Science in Construction Engineering & Management (Online)Fully online (stated)$519 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Distance courses (SD nonresident), tuition per credit · 2026-202730$15,570rate × credits
North Dakota State UniversityBiomedical Engineering Master's (M.S.), online optionOnline$521.06 per creditOnline students — Online Masters, Graduate Certificates per-credit rate, Engineering Tuition C · year not stated30$15,631.80rate × credits
North Dakota State UniversityOnline Professional Master's in Mechanical Engineering (Master of Engineering)Fully online (stated)$521.06 per creditOnline students — Online Masters, Graduate Certificates per-credit rate, Engineering Tuition C · year not stated30$15,631.80rate × credits
Oklahoma State UniversityElectrical Engineering, MS - OnlineOnline$555 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate out-of-state online (tuition and fees) · 2026-202730$16,650rate × credits
Oklahoma State UniversityIndustrial Engineering and Management, MS - OnlineOnline$555 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate out-of-state online (tuition and fees) · 2026-202730$16,650rate × credits
South Dakota School of Mines and TechnologyMaster of Science in Mining Engineering & Management (Online)Online$519 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Distance courses (SD nonresident), tuition per credit · 2026-202733$17,127rate × credits
Liberty UniversityMaster of Engineering (MEng) OnlineFully online (stated)$600 per creditAll students — Graduate Full Time · 2026-202730$18,000rate × credits

Online engineering master's: common questions

Do online engineering master's programs require campus visits?
Most graduate engineering coursework is analytical, computational or design-based, so many programs state that no campus visits are required. Some require an orientation, a lab week or proctored exams at an approved center. A program is labelled fully online here only when the school says so.
Can I apply without an engineering bachelor's degree?
Some programs admit applicants with degrees in mathematics, physics, computer science or another engineering discipline, often with prerequisite or bridge courses. Each profile lists the published prior-degree and prerequisite requirements.
Do I need the GRE?
Policies differ. Many online engineering master's programs state that the GRE is not required or can be waived; others require it. Missing information is shown as not verified, never as “no GRE”.
Are online master's degrees ABET-accredited?
ABET accredits very few master's programs. The absence of ABET accreditation at the master's level is normal and does not by itself say anything about program quality.

Related guides and pages