Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Colorado State University logo

Colorado State University · Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Master of Science in Computer Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Computer Engineering

Computer Engineering

Master'sMS

Overview

The online MS in Computer Engineering is a 30-credit, coursework-only degree (27 course credits plus an MS Plan B portfolio) offered through CSU Online at $747 per credit.

Official program name
Master of Science in Computer Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Computer Engineering
Source: online.colostate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: online.colostate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: online.colostate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: online.colostate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Fort Collins, COWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Non-thesis
Source: online.colostate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
30 credits
Source: online.colostate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
can be completed in 2 years
Source: online.colostate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: online.colostate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

MS in Computer Engineering offered online through CSU Online.

Source: online.colostate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: online.colostate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Online scope not verified
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether campus visits, lab sessions, proctored exams at a center or other in-person requirements apply. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.

Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor of Science in a closely related field that includes coursework in calculus
Source: online.colostate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — 3.0 GPA on all undergraduate coursework
Source: online.colostate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation
Source: online.colostate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume and statement of purpose
Source: online.colostate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    July 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.colostate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    December 1 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.colostate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students$747per creditEstimated tuition$22,410 = 30 credits × $747 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.colostate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $22,410 (30 credits × $747 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Colorado.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. online.colostate.edu/degrees/computer-engineering/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. online.colostate.edu/degrees/electrical-engineering/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Colorado first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Colorado Boulder logo

University of Colorado Boulder

Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering on Coursera (MS-ECE)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Boulder, COSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)Remote / kit / virtual labs published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $667 per credit · All students · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Colorado Boulder logo

University of Colorado Boulder

Professional Master of Science in Electrical & Computer Engineering (online subplans)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Electrical & Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Boulder, COSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: full-time students typically two years or less; full-time workers typically 2-5 years (typical completion) · 30 credits
Tuition: $4,452 per semester · Resident (in-state) — Professional Masters in Engineering, 3 credit hours per semester, in-state · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Iowa State University logo

Iowa State University

Computer Engineering - Master's (Online Master of Engineering)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Computer Engineering

Computer Engineering

Master'sM.Engr. Fully online
Location: Ames, IASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 1 year+ · 30 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $27,000 (30 credits × $900 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Colorado State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.