Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Wayne State University logo

Wayne State University · Department of Biomedical Engineering

Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering: Injury Biomechanics (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMS

Overview

An online, coursework-only (Plan C) M.S. in biomedical engineering with an injury biomechanics concentration, requiring at least 30 credits. Applicants need a B.S. in engineering or, from related fields, calculus and physics prerequisites.

Official program name
Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering: Injury Biomechanics (Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering
Source: bulletins.wayne.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: bulletins.wayne.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: bulletins.wayne.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: engineering.wayne.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Detroit, MIWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Published specializations
Injury Biomechanics
Source: bulletins.wayne.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Thesis / non-thesis
Non-thesis
Source: engineering.wayne.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
minimum of 30 credits of course work
Source: engineering.wayne.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online M.S. in Biomedical Engineering with an injury biomechanics concentration.

Source: bulletins.wayne.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: bulletins.wayne.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: bulletins.wayne.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether campus visits, lab sessions, proctored exams at a center or other in-person requirements apply. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Internship
OptionalInternship, maximum of 6 credits
Source: engineering.wayne.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Required courses: Quantitative Physiology, Computer and Mathematical Applications in Biomedical Engineering, Seminar in Biomedical Engineering.
    Source: engineering.wayne.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredB.S. in engineering from an accredited institution
Source: engineering.wayne.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum GPA 3.0; 2.8-3.0 may be considered for qualified admission
Source: engineering.wayne.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Mathematics prerequisites
RequiredApplicants from related non-engineering disciplines need Calculus I and II and Physics I and II with B or better
Source: engineering.wayne.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$50 — $50; waived for fall 2026 and winter 2027 terms
Source: engineering.wayne.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
RequiredWES evaluation of transcripts for international applicants
Source: engineering.wayne.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Applications are reviewed up to the start of each semester.

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: engineering.wayne.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Graduate School Tuition, Masters and Doctoral - per credit hour, James and Patricia Anderson College of Engineering, In-stateFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,005.13per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$30,153.90 = 30 credits × $1,005.13 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: wayne.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate School Tuition, Masters and Doctoral - per credit hour, James and Patricia Anderson College of Engineering, Out-of-stateFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$2,014.90per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$60,447 = 30 credits × $2,014.90 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: wayne.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $60,447 (30 credits × $2,014.90 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate School Tuition, Masters and Doctoral - per credit hour, James and Patricia Anderson College of Engineering, Out-of-state, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Registration Fee per semester (graduate)
$402.91 per semesterMandatory
Source: wayne.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Student Service Fee (graduate)
$69.63 per creditMandatory
Source: wayne.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Wayne State University is a participating member of NC-SARA and is authorized to offer online distance courses to persons residing in member states. Official pageSource: online.wayne.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. bulletins.wayne.edu/graduate/college-engineering/biomedical-engineering/biomedical-engineering-ms/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. engineering.wayne.edu/biomedical/academics/master/injury-biomechanics — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. online.wayne.edu/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  5. wayne.edu/registrar/tuition/fee-charts — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Michigan first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

North Dakota State University logo

North Dakota State University

Biomedical Engineering Master's (M.S.), online option

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Fargo, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $521.06 per credit · Online students — Online Masters, Graduate Certificates per-credit rate, Engineering Tuition C · year not statedEst. total tuition $15,631.80 (30 credits × $521.06 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Master of Engineering in Bioengineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Bioengineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMEng
Location: Champaign, ILSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: as little as one year, or one course at a time · 32 credits
Tuition: $1,195 per credit · All students — Online students, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027 · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $38,240 (32 credits × $1,195 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
University of Maryland logo

University of Maryland

Master of Engineering in Bioengineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Bioengineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMEng
Location: College Park, MDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,567 per credit · Online students — MAGE online courses, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027 · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $47,010 (30 credits × $1,567 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 15, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Wayne State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.