Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Worcester Polytechnic Institute logo

Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Master of Science in Robotics Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Robotics Engineering

Robotics Engineering

Master'sMS

Overview

A 30-credit online MS in Robotics Engineering built from foundation courses in robot dynamics and control, a project-management context course, electives and a capstone project, with an optional Autonomous Vehicles specialization. Online courses mix live and self-paced virtual sessions; online graduate programs at WPI do not offer a thesis option.

Official program name
Master of Science in Robotics Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Robotics Engineering
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
Worcester, MAWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Published specializations
Autonomous Vehicles
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Thesis / non-thesis
Non-thesis · Project
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
30 credit hours
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online Master of Science in Robotics Engineering with its own online program page and online curriculum.

Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether campus visits, lab sessions, proctored exams at a center or other in-person requirements apply. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Capstone
RequiredRBE 594 Capstone Project Experience in Robotics Engineering (3 credits), normally in teams of two to four.
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredDegree in computer engineering, computer science, electrical, mechanical or robotics engineering, or a related field.
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — GPA of 3.0 or higher.
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Mathematics prerequisites
RequiredWorking knowledge of calculus, differential equations and linear algebra.
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Engineering prerequisites
Recommended2-3 courses in each of mechanical engineering, electrical & computer engineering and computer science.
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Programming background
RequiredFamiliarity with an object-oriented programming language.
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation.
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Waived$70 — $70 application fee, waived for the online program.
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredTranscripts for all post-secondary colleges or universities.
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
RecommendedHighly recommended but not required (Robotics Engineering MS row).
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Graduate Tuition and Fees: Per Credit Tuition (2026-2027, general graduate rate)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,775per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$53,250 = 30 credits × $1,775 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $53,250 (30 credits × $1,775 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Graduate Tuition and Fees: Per Credit Tuition (2026-2027, general graduate rate), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. wpi.edu/academics/online/study/robotics-engineering-ms — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. wpi.edu/academics/online/support/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. wpi.edu/admissions/graduate/how-to-apply — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. wpi.edu/offices/bursar/tuition — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Massachusetts first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Stevens Institute of Technology logo

Stevens Institute of Technology

Master of Engineering in Robotics (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Robotics

Robotics Engineering

Master'sMEng
Location: Hoboken, NJSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: $2,152 per credit · All students — Graduate part-time (less than 9 credits), Fall 2026 & Spring 2027 · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
University of Maryland logo

University of Maryland

Master of Engineering in Robotics Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Robotics Engineering

Robotics Engineering

Master'sMEng
Location: College Park, MDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,567 per credit · Online students — MAGE online courses, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027 · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $47,010 (30 credits × $1,567 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 15, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Purdue University logo

Purdue University

Master of Science / Master of Science in Engineering, major in Robotics (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (MS) or Master of Science in Engineering (MSE), major Robotics

Robotics Engineering

Master'sMS/MSE
Location: West Lafayette, INSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,139 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident of Indiana · year not statedEst. total tuition $43,770 (30 credits × $1,459 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Worcester Polytechnic Institute. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.