Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Worcester Polytechnic Institute logo

Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering

Aerospace Engineering

Master'sMS

Overview

A 30-credit online MS in Aerospace Engineering with coursework across fluid dynamics, propulsion and energy, flight dynamics and controls, materials and structures, and general aerospace topics, offered full- and part-time in 7-week courses. Up to 8 credits may be directed research or graduate internship experience; the GRE is not required.

Official program name
Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
Worcester, MAWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Not verified
Required credits
30 credit hours
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering with its own online program page and online curriculum.

Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026

The pages we checked do not say whether campus visits, lab sessions, proctored exams at a center or other in-person requirements apply. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Internship
OptionalUp to 3 credits of Graduate Internship Experience (AE 5900) within up to 8 research credits.
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Academic calendar

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBS in aerospace engineering or a closely related field.
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Accredited BS with GPA of 3.0 or higher (requirements table).
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose required for the online program.
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation.
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Waived$70 — $70 application fee, waived for the online program.
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredTranscripts for all post-secondary colleges or universities.
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Graduate Tuition and Fees: Per Credit Tuition (2026-2027, general graduate rate)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,775per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$53,250 = 30 credits × $1,775 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: wpi.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $53,250 (30 credits × $1,775 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Graduate Tuition and Fees: Per Credit Tuition (2026-2027, general graduate rate), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. wpi.edu/academics/online/study/aerospace-engineering-ms — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. wpi.edu/academics/online/support/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. wpi.edu/admissions/graduate/how-to-apply — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. wpi.edu/offices/bursar/tuition — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Massachusetts first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Iowa State University logo

Iowa State University

Aerospace Engineering - Master's (Online Master of Engineering)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Aerospace Engineering

Aerospace Engineering

Master'sM.Engr. Fully online
Location: Ames, IASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 1 year+ · 30 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $27,000 (30 credits × $900 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Washington logo

University of Washington

Master of Aerospace Engineering (MAE)

Awarded degree: Master of Aerospace Engineering

Aerospace Engineering

Master'sMAE
Location: Seattle, WASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: three years (continuous enrollment (autumn, winter, spring) and satisfactory performance) · 45 credits
Tuition: $1,239 per credit · All students · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $55,755 (45 credits × $1,239 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: April 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program
University of South Carolina logo

University of South Carolina

Master of Engineering (M.E.) in Aerospace Engineering (APOGEE)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Aerospace Engineering

Aerospace Engineering

Master'sM.E.
Location: Columbia, SCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $572.25 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Resident (part-time, per credit hour) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $37,200 (30 credits × $1,240 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Worcester Polytechnic Institute. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.