Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net

University of Cincinnati

Online Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMEng Fully online

Overview

A non-research online Master of Engineering in mechanical engineering: 27 credit hours of coursework plus a 3-credit capstone (30 total over 10 courses). UC Online lists it as 100% online with spring, summer and fall starts.

Official program name
Online Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering
Awarded degree
Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
Cincinnati, OHWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Project
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
minimum of 30 semester credit hours
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
as few as 18 months (minimum; conditions not stated)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Spring, Summer, Fall
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering.

Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
No required physical attendance (stated by the institution)
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Capstone
Required3 credits of MEng capstone project
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Other

  • Our pragmatic, practical, non-research degree enables you to make a more significant contribution to your business team and/or move into a leadership position.
    Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from an ABET-accredited college/university, preferably in electrical/mechanical/robotics engineering; similar engineering disciplines or physical science may be considered
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 3 — Overall minimum undergraduate GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale (recommended)
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required1 letters — One letter of recommendation
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$65 — $65 for domestic applicants ($70 international); waivers for current US armed forces members and veterans
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts at application; official transcripts after accepting an offer
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
RequiredInternational transcripts need a NACES member evaluation; GRE required for international applicants
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredRequired if the bachelor's degree is from a non-ABET-accredited program, the bachelor's GPA is below 3.0, or the applicant is an international student with a bachelor's degree earned outside the United States.
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 92International students
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 6.5International students (alternative to TOEFL)
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Other deadline

    November 1, 2026 · for Spring 2027

    Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    December 15, 2026 · for Spring 2027

    Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    April 24, 2027 · for Summer 2027

    Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    August 8, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Resident Total Cost, part-time (per credit hour)From the university's online tuition table$797per creditIncludes feesEstimated tuition$23,910 = 30 credits × $797 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Non-Resident Total Cost, part-time (per credit hour)From the university's online tuition table$812per creditIncludes feesEstimated tuition$24,360 = 30 credits × $812 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Resident (in-state) — Resident Total Cost, full-time (per semester)From the university's online tuition table$7,955per semesterIncludes feesSource: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Non-Resident Total Cost, full-time (per semester)From the university's online tuition table$8,105per semesterIncludes feesSource: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $24,360 (30 credits × $812 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Non-Resident Total Cost, part-time (per credit hour), academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Distance Learning Fee (included in total cost)
$26.20 per creditMandatory
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program Fee (included in total cost)
$51 per creditMandatory
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureFor registered engineers, the program is described as an academically based way to meet continuing education requirements to maintain licensure. Official disclosureSource: online.uc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. online.uc.edu/about/accreditations-licensures.html — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. online.uc.edu/degrees-programs/masters/meng-mechanical-engineering.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. online.uc.edu/tuition-finances/program-fees.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Ohio first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of South Carolina logo

University of South Carolina

Master of Engineering (M.E.) in Mechanical Engineering (APOGEE)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sM.E.
Location: Columbia, SCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: other in-person requirement
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $572.25 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Resident (part-time, per credit hour) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $37,200 (30 credits × $1,240 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

Master of Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Nuclear Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration
Location: Raleigh, NCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: must be completed within six years (maximum time limit) · 30 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate - Engineering Online, Engineering Education, Residents of North Carolina, 1 credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $54,123.30 (30 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Master of Engineering (Online) - Aerospace or Mechanical Engineering concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMEConcentration
Location: Norfolk, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $672 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia residents (rates effective Fall 2026) · year not statedEst. total tuition $19,860 (30 credits × $662 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Cincinnati. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.