Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net

University of Central Florida

Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMSME Fully online

Overview

A 30-credit-hour M.S. in mechanical engineering offered through UCF Online with Mechanical Systems and Thermofluids tracks and thesis and non-thesis options. No GRE is required.

Official program name
Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
Orlando, FLWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Published specializations
Mechanical Systems · Thermofluids
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Thesis / non-thesis
Thesis · Non-thesis
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
30 Credit Hours
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online MSME through UCF Online.

Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
No required physical attendance (stated by the institution)
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.

Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Other

  • Students completing the program exclusively via UCF online classes may enroll with a reduction in campus-based fees; F/J visa students may take only 3 of 9 required credit hours fully online.
    Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RecommendedDesigned primarily for holders of a bachelor's degree in mechanical or aerospace engineering; others complete articulation courses
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
RequiredLetters of recommendation
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume (with transcripts, letters of recommendation and statement of objectives)
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    July 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    November 1 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — In State Tuition (UCF Online program page)$327.32per creditEstimated tuition$9,819.60 = 30 credits × $327.32 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Out of State Tuition (UCF Online program page)$1,234.15per creditEstimated tuition$37,024.50 = 30 credits × $1,234.15 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $37,024.50 (30 credits × $1,234.15 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Out of State Tuition (UCF Online program page), academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • UCF participates in NC-SARA; authorized SARA member states include all states except California, and UCF states it has no U.S. state restrictions on enrolling students. Official pageSource: registrar.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. registrar.ucf.edu/restrictions — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. ucf.edu/degree/mechanical-engineering-msme/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. ucf.edu/online/degree/mechanical-engineering-m-s-m-e/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Florida first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Florida logo

University of Florida

Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online, UF EDGE)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Gainesville, FLSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: as little as 24 months (UF EDGE master's degrees generally) · 30 credits
Tuition: $448.73 per credit · Resident (in-state) — EDGE-Florida Residents, tuition per credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $20,700 (30 credits × $690 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of South Carolina logo

University of South Carolina

Master of Engineering (M.E.) in Mechanical Engineering (APOGEE)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sM.E.
Location: Columbia, SCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: other in-person requirement
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $572.25 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Resident (part-time, per credit hour) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $37,200 (30 credits × $1,240 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

Master of Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Nuclear Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration
Location: Raleigh, NCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: must be completed within six years (maximum time limit) · 30 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate - Engineering Online, Engineering Education, Residents of North Carolina, 1 credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $54,123.30 (30 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Central Florida. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.