Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
University of Florida logo

University of Florida

Master of Science / Master of Engineering in Civil Engineering (Online, UF EDGE)

Awarded degree: Master of Science or Master of Engineering in Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering

Master'sMS/ME

Overview

A 30-credit online master's degree in Civil Engineering via UF EDGE through the Engineering School of Sustainable Infrastructure and Environment, with at least 15 credits of departmental coursework. Admitted students choose an M.S. (which requires a final exam) or an M.E. (open only to graduates of ABET-accredited engineering bachelor's programs).

Official program name
Master of Science / Master of Engineering in Civil Engineering (Online, UF EDGE)
Awarded degree
Master of Science or Master of Engineering in Civil Engineering
Source: essie.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: essie.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: essie.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
Gainesville, FLWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Not verified
Required credits
30 credit hours
Source: essie.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
as little as 24 months (UF EDGE master's degrees generally)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: ufedge.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online master's degree in Civil Engineering offered through UF EDGE (MS or ME).

Source: essie.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: essie.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Online scope not verified
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Proctored exams Required

    All UF EDGE exams are proctored, using ProctorU.

    Source: ufedge.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.

Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

  • MS requires a final exam; ME and MS curricula are identical
    Source: essie.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredME option requires a bachelor's in engineering from an ABET-accredited university
Source: essie.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — EDGE-Florida Residents, tuition per credit hourFrom the university's online tuition table$448.73per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$13,461.90 = 30 credits × $448.73 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ufedge.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — EDGE-Non-Florida Residents, tuition per credit hourFrom the university's online tuition table$690per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$20,700 = 30 credits × $690 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ufedge.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Resident (in-state) — EDGE-Florida Residents, total tuition and fees per credit hourFrom the university's online tuition table$502.94per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesEstimated tuition$15,088.20 = 30 credits × $502.94 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ufedge.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — EDGE-Non-Florida Residents, total tuition and fees per credit hourFrom the university's online tuition table$725.75per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesEstimated tuition$21,772.50 = 30 credits × $725.75 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ufedge.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $20,700 (30 credits × $690 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — EDGE-Non-Florida Residents, tuition per credit hour, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Distance Learning Fee (EDGE-Florida Residents)
$15 per creditMandatory
Source: ufedge.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. distance.ufl.edu/state-authorization-status/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. essie.ufl.edu/admissions/distance-learning/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. ufedge.ufl.edu/online-graduate-programs/masters-degree/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. ufedge.ufl.edu/online-graduate-programs/proctoring/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. ufedge.ufl.edu/online-graduate-programs/tuition-fees/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Florida first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Central Florida

Master of Science in Civil Engineering, MS with tracks (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Civil Engineering (MS)

Civil Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Orlando, FLSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $327.32 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In State Tuition (UCF Online program page) · year not statedEst. total tuition $37,024.50 (30 credits × $1,234.15 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of Central Florida

Master of Science in Civil Engineering, MSCE (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering

Master'sMSCE Fully online
Location: Orlando, FLSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Complete your degree in as little as 2 years, full time (full-time) · 30 credits
Tuition: $327.32 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In State Tuition (UCF Online program page) · year not statedEst. total tuition $37,024.50 (30 credits × $1,234.15 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Iowa State University logo

Iowa State University

Civil Engineering - Master's (Online M.Engr. or M.S.)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering or Master of Science in Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering

Master'sM.Engr./M.S. Fully online
Location: Ames, IASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 1 year+ · 30 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $27,000 (30 credits × $900 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Florida. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.